2003-03-26 : Levitation Device
Dang..some days I'm in a writing frenzy. This will be brief, I just wanted to post my newest poem that I wrote in the bath at the end of that particularly hellish day where I told Jay to leave and possibly move out...I found some solace in the tub and here is what came to me (by came, I mean...I think I channel poetry...whole lines of poems come out of nowhere in my head and I fit them all together and there is the poem..I don't sit down and say "Ok, I'm going to write a poem"...it's kind of fascinating) ****************************************


LEVITATION DEVICE
---------------------


I run a bath hoping to banish
all troubles out of my skin
and bones. A sudden flash
of a tin foil plate makes an impression
on my mind like a negative and I know
I have the perfect candle holder.


Seven white emergency tea lights
placed in a star shape in the shiny saucer
and I'm oohing and ahing my way slowly
into the water. To my amazement the foil
floats and I feel like I've found the answer
to my spiritual stagnation.


I put my head under water, eyes open and can hear
my own heartbeat and the rush of water
down the faulty drain. I watch this fiery
flotation device move slowly over my stomach
to my thighs like a planchette sending signals
to my Ouija board body and I lie in wait
for some sort of levitation into a better dimension.