2003-03-27 : Anesthesia Trips and old Weight Watchers Cards
This is great. Everybody needs to go look at THESE! Perfect for weight-watching, as you'll never want to eat AGAIN! Not much to report right now. Last night Jay and I watched "The Magnificent Ambersons" which was wonderful (well, duh! Orson Welles was involved!) I really wish I could see the movie as he originally had envisioned it (the studio cut 40 minutes off the pictures...you can sort of tell, though the movie is still magical anyway)..Orson was PISSED, of course.

My brother has to have surgery on his foot. He had a little snow-boarding accident (he lives in Denver..he just bought a small Victorian house...it's painted in shades of pink..hahahaha..I think he'll repaint it since that pink color probably makes him question his manliness (if you know my brother, you'd get this...) Not that he is exactly homophobic, but....

Anyways, I remember the one and only time I had to "go under" (anesthesia). I was 19 I believe and I had to have an oral surgeon pull my wisdom teeth. So, mom took me to Carle Hospital and I remember lying on the operating table and the doctor was kinda joking around and really funny, which was good cuz I was convinced I was on my way to a pre-mature death...the thought of "going under" really freaked me out. They put the IV in and he smiled and held my hand and said "Ok..now you are going to go on a short and fun little trip..." and I felt silly and smiled and then felt the numbness/darkness creep up from my toes to my head, felt my heart flutter for an instant and then I was OUT. I guess when I came to in the recovery room (which I don't remember..I don't remember the first hour or so once I was conscious again) but I guess in the recovery room I kept laughing at everything and acting really doped up and like a general dork. My mom said I was really out of it in the car, and still laughing and drooling on myself and she kept having to reach over and stuff the gauze back in my mouth cuz I had no control over myself. I do remember being in bed a few hours later and I puked...(anesthesia makes some people sick..) but overall it wasn't a bad experience at all!!!