2003-03-28 : The Briefs and my Lasagna and Red Wine Party (and Prison Life,too)
I'm drinking chamomile tea, hoping that it will "sooth and calm" me a bit. I feel a little hyper and like bouncing off the walls right now. Not sure why. MONSA and I were emailing back and forth yesterday about past romances (more like flings) and what cracks me up is that the subject line was always "church" (which was the original subject of our email banter) She went through (is she over it yet?) a small fantasy/obsession with catholicism, but had never been to a Catholic mass, so one year I took her to Holy Cross. The reality of the boredom of the ceremony and the creepy wandering eye (and "evil eye"? ha ha) of the priest snapped her back into reality about how the Catholic church is not very special, and is in fact quite irritating (though I love stained glass, and the lives of the saints continually fascinate me, OH and communion hosts are really tasty...just kidding!)...where was I? Oh yea...me and monsa.

Last night Jay met THE BRIEFS (they rock!) at their practice space and did an interview for The Tablet. He played me the taped recording of the interview. What a bunch of funny and nice guys. Alot of their tour stories seemed to involve feces....hmmmmm. I'm still insisting Jay move out on May 1st (it makes me feel better to help him make a decision, cuz his constant wishy-washy approach to whether to stay or go ("Should I stay or should I go now?" *sniff* poor Joe Strummer....) is driving me INSANE. Tonight we are going to see The Briefs play at the Catwalk cuz they put Jay on the guest list (aren't we movers and shakers in the Seattle punk rock scene? WHOO!) Jay may decide he's mad at me, though and decide to un-invite me..I hope not. I've never been to The Catwalk. Besides The Vogue, The Catwalk is Seattle's other notorious Fetish/Goth club. I wonder if I should do myself up in Siouxsie eyeliner and see-through black garments? (I don't own any, too bad!)

Tommorrow night I'm having some friends over for lasagna and red wine night. Much rawk music will be played (and I hope the cranky neighbors next door don't pound on the wall during our 6 pm dinner party!) Then after dinner we might go to The Vogue for dancing and more goth-a-tude. Or maybe we won't....

THEN, on Sunday afternoon I have a book club meeting...which I think might be a slightly anti-climax to the rest of the weekend, but we always have good food at the potluck and I like some of the girls there. Busy weekend ahead. Too bad I'm having company..that means I'll actually have to clean the bathroom and shit.

Last night I rented "Animal Factory." It wasn't as good as I expected it to be...It was directed by Steve Buscemi, so I figured it'd some sort of masterpiece but it was mainly just alright. No, it was good, but not exceptional. Edward Furlong was mighty sexy in it, and so was bald-headed Willem Dafoe. It's about prison life. Rent it!!