2003-03-31 : The Lost Weekend
OH man...WHAT a weekend. I'm taking it easy next weekend. I'll just lie around in my pajamas and read. Oh...I had this dream last night that I moved back to Carbondale, IL (where I attended college) and I didn't know anybody and this lady came into my apartment and she kept pulling knives out of her pocket and trying to stab me..and I was successful in grabbing most of the knives out of her hand but then I felt a pain in my side and I pulled out a little knife that she had stuck in me and I was bleeding and there was a big incision and I remember calling for help, but I didn't die or anything...very strange.

Friday Jay and I went to eat at the Elysian...I had a great bbq pork sandwich that was served w/blue and red chips and the spiciest salsa I've had in ages...my mouth burnt for a good 10 minutes. Then we took a bus downtown as we were headed for the Catwalk to see The Briefs play an all-ages show. On the way, we stopped at a dive bar around the corner from the catwalk. It was called the Double Header and was dead there except for a few old, drunk men at the counter. I bummed a Lucky Strike off of one of them and was glad that it was a filtered Lucky Strike! My favorite thing about the Double Header was the fact that the toilet paper in the women's bathroom was chained to the wall!!

We go to the Catwalk as a very bad, generic hardcore band Kill the Precedent (? terrible name!) was finishing. Then the Hollowpoints played but Jay and I were too busy talking in the bar section to pay attention. We did go out for the Amazombies set. We were surrounded by 14-20 year olds..many in fine punk rock gear that I used to remember seeing at shows when I was 15. The kids really dug the Amazombies..I thought they were just alright. The Briefs were great though and everybody danced alot and I got all sweaty. OHHHHHH! I almost forgot. I swear to go that I am convinced that the Catwalk is haunted (it IS in a very old section of Seattle in a very old building...) When Jay and I were sitting in a corner booth in the bar section, I had a creepy feeling..then out of the corner of my eye I saw a shadow of a person dressed in long black clothing RUN at break-neck speed right by our booth..I turned around immediately and nobody was there....GHOST ALERT....then maybe it was my imagination but I felt like this THING followed me into the other room where the bands were playing and it was right behind me..I kept having to look over my shoulder..finally in my mind I told it to please leave me alone and then the music started and it left...I'm sure that sounds insane, but...it's true.

Saturday I walked around with just a T-shirt on..it was really warm and sunny and went shopping for my dinner party..Jay and I were fighting as prepared lasagna and baked ravioli, and I had barely enough time to shower and get dressed before my guests arrived. There were several bottles of red wine, so I started early. Everybody ate and had fun and I drank just a little more than necessary and took it upon myself to leave my OWN dinner party about 10 pm to walk down to the Vogue to dance to 80's new wave stuff..Jamie went with me for about an hour but then I insisted on staying and she went back to the party. I was REALLY dizzy...but I danced (I probably looked really stupid..I had poor balance at this point) and then some blonde guy in a "Nitro" tshirt came up and started sexy dancing w/me on the floor. We ended up having a nice conversation and dumb-ass me gave him my work phone#...I don't really want him to call (or do I?) I sort of remember being attracted to him, and I sort of remember not being attracted to him...I did leave suddenly and he seemed taken aback, but I started to feel freaked out and I just said "I gotta go now..sorry..." I stumbled home the two blocks, walked in the door, looked at everybody (it was 1 am at this point..and I couldn't believe everybody was still there) One guy was asleep on our floor. I went in the bedroom, took off my shoes and socks and laid down on the bed....I didn't feel so hot yesterday morning, but I managed to go to the bookclub meeting where we had ham, scalloped potatoes and carrot cake. I still feel really tired today. I need to cut out this drinking and smoking cigarettes shit...I had alot of fun, though...