2003-04-08 : Of Mice and Men
"I...would do anything..not to feel so JAGGED..I'd do anything..not to feel so JAGGED.." I've got that Old 97's song stuck in my head (which is a good thing, not a bad thing cuz I love the Old 97's..)

*sigh*...I want to go home from this boring job *sigh* at least I have one, though. I called my mom from one of little "phone rooms" (bigger than a phone booth..about the same size as a large closet") since she had left a message for me and it was good timing to go to the other side of the office because my desk is unfortunately situated too close to the kitchen and today it smelled like somebody took a shit in a bowl, put some steaming cabbage on top of it and microwaved it...the nasty odor permeated this whole side of the office for a good half hour. YUCK! Mom still can't find a nursing job on The Big Island, and she sure is hell isn't going to take up waitressing at 57 (and she said her knees and vericose veiny legs can't take lots of standing up and walking anyway)...so it sounds like she's thinking about saying "fuck Hawaii" and heading for Seattle...possibly in early July, but these things change as quickly as my mother's mood does (which is rapid these days)...I feel sorry for her. You can only hang out w/my sister and her kids (though they are really cute and full of energy and funny as hell) for so long..mom needs friends closer to her personality over there but she isn't having much luck w/that, either. My brother had foot surgery a week ago (he hurt it while snowboarding) and he said he's recovering nicely and really enjoying his percosets! I bet!!

Yes..movie update time again (I must watch a movie every other day, it seem!): Last night Jay and I watched the 1939 version of "Of Mice and Men" (with Lon Chaney Jr. as Lenny and Burgess Meredith as George)...it was a swell movie. I almost started crying when they had to take Candy's old dog out and shoot him and then when Lenny accidentally killed his "pup" (thank god they didn't show the "dead" animals..you know that nowadays they would have..somethings are better left implied in my opinion. Jay said he was all tear-eyed at the end at the demise of Lenny (sorry if I ruined the story/movie for ya)...I've never been a Steinbeck fan but this was a great story.

Today I sat outside during lunch and sniffed the air like a rabbit or a cat and watched more blossoms from trees float slowly to the ground. It was paritally sunny and pretty warm. In fact, I felt a little hot sitting in the direct sun wearing a long-sleeved shirt. It's cloudy now, though...drag. Oh well..I'm walking to the store after work and purchasing a 4 cheese Freschetta frozen pizza and then I"ll probably go home and watch another library movie I rented (I can't remember the other two I checked out right now)...Ciao! Oh, after hearing about the journalists that just got killed after the US accidentally targeted their hotel or wherever, I am glad to report that my friend Ron is still alive and well (the only way I know is by going to rferl's site and reading his daily reports from Baghdad!)