2003-04-10 : Operation Flea-cide
I got a raise..I got a raise. It isn't tons, but I'm pleased. Whoo-hoo!! In other news..my armpits won't quit being sweaty today..it's so irritating. I wonder if it's because this shirt is a mixture of a cotton/poly blend? Anyways...its the sort of shirt that shows sweat stains when you are sweating...the shirt is coral colored and the sweat stains under the arms are red..LOVELY and very very sexy...ick. I want to go home and take a shower because I feel stinky (even though I'm not really..I keep smelling myself in my cubicle on the sly...)

Tonight I'm going w/my friend, Lynn after work to eat Ethiopian food. I love eating without silverware...scooping deliciously spiced meats and vegetables up in wads of very spongy flat bread and stuffing it all into my mouth. I can't wait!

Today Jay took the seniors to the Tulip Festival in LaConnor (Laconner...?? Hell, I'm not a Washington native and I can't be expected to smell every godforsaken town between here and Canadian border correctly!) I'm jealous that I couldn't go because tulips are my favorite flower and I've never been up to the festival when they were at their peak in blooming. There are just fields upon fields of tulips in every shade imaginable. Jay said he took some pictures for me, which is good (cuz I asked him to). I don't feel quite as mad at him today. That has subsided. When I was home last night, he came home from the store w/hot dogs (which I was glad for) and ramen (which I don't eat) and bananas (which I hate) and I wouldn't really talk to him unless it was to answer a direct question and I finally told him "Ya know..the reason I'm acting like this is cuz I feel really mad at you today and very resentful." He just said that he could tell I was mad and he said he didn't know what to say. Then he suggested that maybe i'd like to go in the other room if I didn't want to be around him and I said "No..I can stay in the same room as you. I just plan on pretending that you aren't even here." and he was fine with that. After eating, I went in the bedroom and watched some of The Helen Hayes/Gary Cooper version of "A Farewell to Arms" that I'd rented from the library but although it was humorous in parts, I just couldn't really get into it so I shut it off. Then I started reading more of the book I started yesterday "Paris to the Moon" (Adam Gopnik) and I was cracking up cuz his writing style is really funny and his descriptions of some French habits are hilarious (he writes from an admiring, but semi-perplexed state as far as being an ex-patriat in Paris for 5 years during the latter part of the 1990's)...I was laughing and I ended up having Jay in bed next to me, listening while I read about the French view of exercise and fitness clubs...Paris and Parisians in general sound fairly surreal and rather absurdist and I'd like to go visit. It'd be fun, I think. I'd want to be able to speak some French so the Parisians wouldn't frown upon me, though.

What else? Nothing else that I can think to write about. I cannot wait until I get paid tommorrow so I can go to the Mud Bay Granary on my way home from work and get some Advantage to put on the cats to de-flea them. I'm also getting Boric acid to sprinkle on the carpets. This is the recommended way of ridding the environment of fleas these days, I guess. Much less toxic and messy and alot less inconvenient than flea bombs and foggers and the like. God, every time I think or talk or type about fleas I have to scratch myself..I get itchy. Funny how the brain works on itself!