2003-04-18 : Good Friday means Hot Dog Day
It is GOOD FRIDAY. For those non-Catholics among us (Hell, I'm a non-Catholic these days, though I was raised as one!) Good Friday is the day when "Jesus" is alleged to die on a cross in behalf of freeing all mankind who would believe in him from a certain death in hell. Good Friday is one of the days of the Holy Week before Easter (when Jesus was "resurrected")...some ladies at work were wondering why it's called "Good" Friday when it's a day of death. I found this answer on some web-site (I'm gonna be a sinner and not credit the web-site..mwahhahahaha): "It may seem like a funny term, Good, for a day marked with death. The origin of the word is not exactly clear. Some say it is really the German translation of God's Friday (Gottes Freitag). Other say it was supposed to be a "good" day for mankind because now they had a chance to escape hell (because Jesus died for their sins...)" I believe strict Catholics still don't consume flesh (only fish) on Good Friday. It used to be that a good Catholic only ate fish EVERY Friday, but I believe that practice went out of fashion several decades ago. My family was never terribly strict as far as Catholicism went but I do remember one particular "Good Friday" when I was about 12. I had forgotten it was "Good Friday" (and I hate fish anyway!) and my mother came home to find me about to take my first bite of a hot dog and urged "STACEY! It's Good Friday...you shouldn't eat that." I, being a punk-ass kid, smiled maliciously and took a big bite!

Darryl Zero is at my house right now and him and Jay are probably STILL talking about guitar brands and listening to Funkadelic's "Maggot Brain" (which Darryl brought and Jay is recording on the stereo)...I was very tired last night and fell asleep before Darryl got into town (which I feel bad about, but I just couldn't stay awake!) I woke up several times to go pee and there was Darryl...wearing his cute knit cap, sleeping on the floor with a blanket.

Tonight Jay and I are going over to Poulsbo to visit Jay's parents for "Easter." We are celebrating it a day early, though, cuz we have to be back Sat. night to see this band. It's funny cuz we do kid stuff at his parents even though we are in our 30's. Sometimes we do a plastic Easter Egg Hunt. The best part of their family tradition is "making nests"....you pile some clothes up to make a round little "nest" in front of your bedroom door (ok, so we sleep in the same room when we are there, but still...) and when you wake up in the morning..the "nest" is filled with treats and fun stuff. It's pretty cool, though I prefer the "Easter Basket" tradition that our family did. I wish mom would send me an Easter Basket *sniff*....I like jelly beans and white chocolate!