2003-04-21 : My ankle hurts
Monday morning...feeling cranky and tired and PMS-y. I'm eating a little chocolate hoping it will save me a bit.

Yesterday I made a pitcher of Lime-ade (which I adore as much as lemonade...I'm not a pop drinker...) and I realized how sweet and sour citrus juices really are. I was sitting in bed, eating a Twinkie and sipping some Lime-ade...strange taste combo!! I was also reading a new book ("historical fiction") called "Chang and Eng" which is about the obvious!! It's very well done so far and it's told from the point of view of Eng, the more "intelligent" and "bookish" of the two twins (supposedly, anyway)

Friday evening we drove over to Jay's parents house. On the way there, on Big Valley Road, in the dark, going about 55 miles per hour, Jay made a very stupid driving mistake and I was sure we'd die, but we didn't. He went to pass a slow moving car (this road is pretty twisty, though Jay claims to know this road like the back of his hand) and once we got into the other lane he realized (and I almost screamed) that the oncoming traffic was MUCH closer than he had thought...so we speeded up and made it back into our proper lane (in front of the slow car) just in time. To say that my heart was pounding and that I was gripping the doorhandle with white knuckles and not breathing, but stone still like a deer caught in headlines would be an understatement. For once Jay actually admitted that his judgement had been poor. YIKES! I'm glad that we didn't die in a head-on collision. I am neurotic about travelling in cars and dying in accidents.

We ate homemade Mac-n-Cheese at his parents and made chit-chat. I was so tired from a long work week that by 10 pm or 10:30 I was ready to go to bed and Jay was pretty sick with a head cold, so we went to bed early (but not before making our "nests" so the Easter Bunny would come).

I woke up in the morning to find my nest containing a small box of Frango chocolates (yum), a chocolate chicken (not so yum..I don't like cheap, hollow chocolate animals that are so popular for Easter...the chocolate is nasty...) and book of poetry by an old woman named Ruth Stone. Jay got similar things, only his book was the latest anthology of Bukowski poetry (released post-humously)...I've read some of the Ruth Stone poetry. She's pretty good, but I'm not overally enthralled with her stuff. But it was nice to be given a book of poetry anyway!

After eating, his parents hid about 65 plastic eggs on their very large property, and the race began between Jay and I. Thrillingly, almost each egg contained a dollar...2 eggs contained a $5 dollar bill and few eggs contained candy. We ended up with about equal amounts of $$ and eggs and it was a fun hunt (and I needed the $30.00 I "found" because I am so fucking broke it ain't funny)...

We watched "Mean Streets" which was very good, if not a little long (I think Jay's dad looks like Harvey Keitel a bit...) and we were supposed to go back home on Saturday night but jay was feeling pretty lousy so we decided to stay another night. Jay's mom and I headed off to the mall to entertain ourselves...we looked around Ross, where I purchased (actually Jay's mom paid for everything....even though I insisted I pay...) a Cobalt blue tea kettle (I have never had a tea kettle..DUH!) and a slotted spoon (exciting, huh?) and some Argyle socks for Jay (per Jay's request)..then we rented "Ringu" (The original Japanese movie that inspired "The Ring") and brought back a pizza.

Ringu was pretty creepy and though there were less spooky visual effects, I thought it was an overall better movie, mostly because the entire plot made sense (unlike "The Ring" which was full of holes)...I actually woke up in the middle of the night scared out of my mind with my heart racing. The image of the girl crawling out of the well, towards the camera, through the TV....very disturbing to me and I couldn't stop my brain from visualizing those images (which is a problem I have easily and is why I Shouldn't watch scary movies....but I do anyway cuz I really enjoy them!)

Anyways, we ate breakfast and then headed back to Seattle on Sunday..I felt incredibly tired from our "mini vacation" (why does that happen to me?) and I laid in bed most of yesterday, except for a brief trip to KFC (where there was a guy that kept scratching himself violently...scabies? fleas? a junkie? I couldn't be sure) but it was a little disturbing trying to eat when thinking about the possible parasites that were crawling around on him and landing on the KFC floor when he'd scratch the hell out of his entire body.

I did watch some of Jean Luc Godard's "Weekend" last night but only got about an hour into it before it just seemed ridiculous (I know..that was the point, but it just bored me) and I turned it off.

I don't know..I don't really have anything exciting to talk about, so..off I go. Oh, I am reading something by Robert Anton Wilson...I think the title is "Conspiracy Theories, Cover-ups and Cults"...it's just a general and very broad listing alphabetically of exactly what the Title of the book implies..some crazy shit in there. I love his stuff. I really liked "Cosmic Trigger" and I have been meaning to read "The Illuminati Trilogy" for years (still haven't gotten to it) and I want to read "Prometheus Rising" as well.