2003-04-24 : Orchids and Butter Peanuts
I'm eating "butter peanut bytes" ("The Snack of the Millenium!") and I bought them thinking they were Butter Toffee peanuts, but they aren't. They are good anyway. I'm also peeling dried clear fingernail polish off my skin. Ya see..I got this chronic ringworm thing goin' on. I'm always getting it (The vet says it ISN'T from my cats, but I think it probably is)...it comes and goes. I read somewhere that putting fingernail polish over the ringworm makes it go away cuz it suffocates the fungus. I've found this to be completey true AND it's much cheaper than buying prescription strength anti-fungal crap or over the counter creams. I love peeling this stuff off my skin. It's like peeling a sunburn, without the negative effects.

Today while on hold with an insurance company (story of my fucking LIFE...) I heard a muzak version of "My Way." Perhaps many people think of the original Frankie Sinatra song, but I think of Sid Vicious' twisted parody version of it. To hear a muzak version was hilarious, esp. because it was all done with a piano and nothing else!

I tryed watching Truffaut's (Don't you love how I just use his last name as if we were the best of pals!? It's like referring to Led Zeppelin as simply "Zep" or "Zeppelin" or Pink Floyd as "Floyd"...people that do that irritate me. I guess then, I irritate myself!) "Small Change" last night, but the library copy was messed up majorly and the picture kept jumping, jumping, jumping rope.

Jay's band (DONNER PARTY OF FOUR..I just love typing it) is playing their 2nd show EVER tonight. And it is their first show w/their new bass player. I'm gonna wear my spify "DONNER PARTY OF FOUR" bright orange t-shirt that Jay made especially for me. I guess one of the other bands playing tonight is The Bugs, who are a band signed to Fred Cole's label, Tombstone Records (Fred Cole is the singer for Dead Moon) so this band might be cool! Tommorrow we are going to Zac's AGAIN (two nights in a row!) to see The Spitfires (I bet Infrequency knows who they are..them being from Vancouver and all..I've seen 'em before....pretty good.) and Electric Eye (whose singer

was extremely kinetic and bloody-lipped the last time I saw them)...I have book club on Sunday..I'm bringing key lime pie to it (I think I'll purchase the pie...I don't feel like baking one) and on Saturday I MIGHT go to The Vogue if so inclined. Oh, and I have tommorrow OFF (did I mention that already? YES!)

I just started reading "The Orchid Thief"...it's amazing. I never thought I'd care to read huge amounts of info on the history of orchids, but it's fascinating nonetheless!