2003-05-05 : Rock You Like a Hurricane
Damn..I was too lazy to update during the entire weekend. Nothing too exciting happened. Saturday afternoon Jay and I went to The Crest (the cheap $3.00 cinema) because Adaptation was playing. Good movie...pretty hilarious in parts, though I found that it was a little over-long..I got a little bored towards the end. Saturday evening I laid in bed and watched "All About Eve"...Bette Davis..what a DAME!! Also watched the first half hour of Saturday Night Live. Ashton Kutcher...what a beautiful boy...but NOT in tighty-whities..I'm sorry but NOBODY looks sexy in those, period! Yesterday morning I decided to finally go to Zeitgeist, which is a coffee shop on lower Capitol Hill (took me about 25 minutes to walk there from my place)...My massage therapist had told me that they have the BEST home-made donuts in Seattle. Obviously, they aren't a secret because when I got there at about 10:40 am there were no tables left and there was a fairly long line of people waiting to get coffee and donuts. I must say that I was impressed with the quality and variety of their donuts. I had 2 jelly filled (lemon and raspberry) and I brought a chocolate covered and jelly home for Jay. I was out walking in the rain with my red umbrella listening to the tape that I'm ALMOST done recording for Buddy Savage (aka: xmasface)....I should be done with it today or tommorrow..I hope he enjoys it. I think he will because I have Excellent taste in music...hee hee. I should record a comp for sambadelic to return the favor. I wonder if she can play tapes. I can only make mix-tapes because I have no Cd burner. Let's see...I'm reading "The Lives of Girls and Women" by Alice Munro (upon recommendation of my old friend and college roomie, C.P.) and I'm REALLY enjoying it. I was in a bit of a cooking mood yesterday so I thumbed through my dictionary sized Veggie cookbook and made a Mexican Chili Corn pie which turned out FAB! Even Jay was eating it and going "mmmmmmmm..."..it's basically home-made veggie chili with cornbread baked on top of it. It was EASY too!! Then most of the afternoon I watched "I love the 80's..1982 and 1983" of VH1 (what a dork I am)..I got excited when people were talking about Duran Duran..OH NICK! He wore make-up than I EVER have and he was my fave! Then for the rest of the evening I watched several segments of the History Channel's "Reign of Terror"...I'm like TOTALLY into dictators. I do have an overblown obsession w/Hitler and the Holocaust..I think I was born with it since when I was a pre-pubscent I was into it then. I was also watching something on Stalin. Poor crazy ugly maniacs..not that I feel sorry for either of them. I guess Hitler despised his fat nose. It is pretty wide. Finally I allowed Jay to switch the channel and we watched the Simpsons (there were AMISH on the first episode...YES!)

I have my plane ticket for Denver (july 3-9) to visit my Brother, and my mom is coming to visit me the last week in June and then she's moving back to Illinois and buying a house. She's finally made a decision and I'm glad. Her roots are just too deep there to live in another state permanently. I'm sort of glad she'll be moving back because now I feel like I have a connection again in Illinois. Sure I could always stay with various aunts/uncles or my stepdad, but I don't really want to.

Ps...On the way to Adaptation on Saturday "Rock You Like a Hurricane" came on the radio and Jay and I were totally getting into it. I was doing this god awful Grateful Dead freak-out chair dance while in the car...it was great. I still remember my sister's friend spray-painting "Scorps Rule" in front of our driveway when we were in high school. Scorpions DO RULE! I preferred Def Leppard, though.