2003-05-06 : My mother and Media Control
Stealing this from one of my faves:

In honor of Mother's Day, (1) will you be a last minute shopper or have you already bought your Mother's gift?

My mother lives out of state, so I will send her a card (which will arrive on time because I'm anal that way!) and possibly call her. If she lived in town I'd give her a gift.

(2) Finish this sentence, I love my mother because...

she is so much like me and therefore we really relate to each other and have great conversations, and because she makes me feel like an intelligent, humorous, talented and beautiful person (OH, she's SOOOO wrong..just kidding!) I also love her because she understands my morbid sense of humor and has always been there for me. She could call me 3 times a day for the rest of my life and I'd be happy to hear her voice once again. Not having been able to see her whenever I've wanted for the past 10 years has made me miss her terribly.

Tuesday, May. 06, 2003 @ 1:41 pm

This-or-That Tuesday: The Media Edition

1. TV or radio? TV. Depends on my mood. Sometimes I like listening to KEXP, sometimes I like hearing bad oldies/metal on the radio but mostly I end up watching TV.

2. On the radio: talk or music station? Music. I really don't like radio.

3. Actual books or books-on-tape (or e-books)? Real books...I just have a feeling it wouldn't be the same listening to it on tape. I doubt I could concentrate as well.

4. Actual newspaper, or web version? either...I like newspapers, though. I like getting the smears inadvertently on my fingers and then unknowingly getting smudge marks on my cheek. I strive to look like the Little Matchstick Girl.

5. Wall Street Journal or National Enquirer? Wall Street Journal.

6. TV news...news channel such as CNN, or your local broadcast news?

I flip back and forth..more likely to watch local news, though.

7. A movie you've been looking forward to seeing gets bad reviews all around. See it anyway, or pass?

I don't always agree w/the fucking critics, so I'd see it anyway.

8. See movies when they first come out, or wait a few weeks for the lines at the theater to get shorter?

I almost always wait a couple weeks. I can't think of a single movie I've gone to on opening weekend.

9. TV: cable, satellite dish, or just plain old antenna? Cable.

10. Thought-provoking question of the week: If you had to choose only one form of media to come into your home, which would you choose...print (newspapers, magazines) or electronic (TV, internet)? Why?

I'd choose TV and internet over papers and magazines. Mostly I don't read magazines or newspapers now anyway so it wouldn't be too difficult to imagine...