2003-05-17 : Dirtnap Bands, Beatles bootlegs and the Devil's Business
It's a Sunny Saturday. I just got back from the grocery store (spent $17.00, which is about all I have left at this point! I REALLY need to get paid). I found an OOOOLLLLLDDDD Tape that was made for me in probably 1988. It's a bunch of Beatles songs/outtakes from various Bootlegs that my old boyfriend (the journalist in Prague) had. He's always been a Beatles fanatic. When he found out that Strawberry Fields Forever was one of my fave songs, he proceeded to record me 8 different versions of it. Interesting, but a LITTLE much. I'm not as into it as he is/was. Oh, but WAIT...now I've come to the part of this old tape that has some interesting live sounding songs from Wire.

I can still taste all the nasty cigarettes I smoked last night and all the beer I drank. We went to the Dirtnap Record Label showcase at the Crocodile. All 3 bands were pretty fuckin' good!! First came the Pulses (local band), who kind of reminded me of a modern day sort of Kinks-ish thing. The bass player used to be in The Fall-outs many, many years ago.

The next band up was The Cinch, who are from Vancouver B.C. Two girls and 3 boys..the girls take turns singing. Good harmonizing. They were really catchy and I bought their EP for $5.00. Their last song was a KICK-ASS cover of The Cure's "A Forest"....I was really surprised when they played it...esp. cuz it didn't really fit in with their sound, but they did such a fast, noisy cover of it (but still very much recognizable)...that has always been one of my favorite Cure songs from way back when!!

Then came The Cripples (local band)...Two guys with keyboard/guitar things that make alot of noise and stupid sounds, a bassist, a drummer (and occasionally one of the keyboard/guitarists would play a regular guitar)...anyways, they had a fog machine, a great sense of humor and a good beat and I danced my ass off (as did Jay)...They did the strangest and most hilarious cover of Salt-n-Pepa's "Push It"..I couldnt' stop laughing. Anyways, these guys' are great and though they might sound like a stupid novelty joke band, they are SOO much more than that, actually.

Then Jay and I came home and did the Devil's Business, which we haven't for Months, and though it was nice, I think my mind was somewhere else. I guess the bottom line is that having sex doesn't change anything at all (at least not in my mind)

Anyways, I'm gonna go and read more about Prague now. Buh-bye!

ps..I rented "Catch me if you can" which we'll watch later. And I also rented "Laurence of Arabia" which I've NEVER seen (it's my mom's fave movie of all time) and I figured it would be a good movie for tommorrow. A Good Sunday morning epic sort of thing.