2003-05-26 : Magnolia Park
I love the way cats look as they daintily clean their ears and faces. Very cute. Long pink tongue. I'm watching Opal tidy herself up. The cats have been out on the ledge cackling at the pidgeons that like to roost on the building right across from our windows.

Jay went to his parents to spend the night and spend a little quality "alone" time with them. He is also going to break the news to them that we are separating. I hope they won't take it too bad or as something worse than it is (I could see his mom being all sad about it and over-reacting)

Took a blanket to Magnolia Park which is set on the waterfront section of Magnolia. Reading my book ("Botany of Desire")...very fascinating historical look at the origins of the apple, tulips, cannabis and the potato and their American popularity over the decades...this is for the bookclub I joined that Mrs. Roboto (see my faves) is in...staring at the sailboats on the Sound...listening to the sound of children screaming in the distance and watching them on the swingset down the hill. Perfect day...sunny...mid 60's.

Now, I'm gonna go try to learn my Czech alphabet and numbers..wish me luck..cuz you KNOW i'll need it. Czech is a beautiful language. I watched part of a Czech film last night "The Joke"..it's based on a story by Milan Kundera. The translator sometimes did a terrible (and very mis-spelled) job on the subtitles but I really enjoyed hearing the language.

Back to work tommorrow...This 3-day weekend has actually felt more fulfilling and longer than most..feels more like I've been out of work for about 5 days. Not sure why that is, but it is a good thing cuz I don't mind going back to work tommorrow.