2003-05-29 : Strange
I dreamed last night that I was at Jay's parents house and I was talking to his mom (who was in a blue and white striped robe) and I remember she started crying and was holding my hand and that caused me to cry. It all had to do w/this separation and she was taken it to be so devastating.

In reality, Jay had told his parents over the weekend that he's moving out and we are separating for now, but that we are still friends and aren't talking about getting divorced yet or anything. His parents took it well, though they were concerned that he'd just decided this and that the decision wasn't mutual. So, I emailed his mom a couple days ago that no matter what happens I'd always want to consider them my "parents" and my "friends" and that we'd still see each other. His mom (being a little bit of a drama queen and strangely out of touch w/her emotions in a way) wrote back a sort of formal "I barely know you" email stating "Dear Stacey, I write to you with a heavy heart. We were surprised when Jay told us, but I know you are both adults and can make your own decisions. Your acts of kindness and your thoughfulness (not to mention all your book recommendations) have made me very happy these past 3 years. Arnie and I wish the the best of luck, and just know that you'll always have a place in my heart."

HELLO? Doesn't that sound like a "goodbye" letter? Or something you would say at somebody's funeral? It hurt me cuz it seemed so impersonal and like she was writing me off or something just because her son and I are doing well...Jesus Christ. I showed it to Jay and he said not to worry, he plans on trying to get it through their thick skulls that this isn't the tragedy they seem to think it is, nor is it some hostile divorce or even hostile separation. We are taking time apart cuz we are driving each other crazy while living together...they obviously don't understand that. Anyways, I think that dream makes sense. I was probably telling her in my dream that "everything will be fine, stop worrying."

The top-secret date for night has been post-poned until I get back from my "Let's visit Tracy and Hans in Eugene, drink alot, smoke alot, laugh alot, be stupid, have a celebrational BBQ, welcome home bash" trip. He said he's been so busy w/work lately that he's been going home w/bad headaches. Poor baby...he can rest. I'll see him next week. Actually, it'll be nice to just be at home and relax and pack for the weekend since I leave right after work tommorrow! I'm so EXCITED to hang out w/Tracita and Hans (I think I'll tease him by calling him Johann...hee hee) I hope I don't do anything stupid like get really wasted and puke in somebody's lap. I'll try to have self-control!

Watched most of Zorba the Greek last night. I'll have to finish it tonight. What a fab movie. It made me smile and laugh so much. I just adored it! I felt sleepy though and couldn't finish it.

I wish it was Friday afternoon!