2003-06-27 : Divorce Papers
Well, I just printed divorce forms off the county web-site and filled them out. I just need Jay to read and sign them and then I guess I'll file. I wonder how much it will cost to file through the courts. I assume there is a fee. I'm not going through a lawyer..it's pointless. We have no children and no shared property, automobiles or ANYTHING. It makes it easier that way. Strangely, It all just feels like paperwork to me. I'm not sad. Am I heartless? Probably not. It's all just paperwork, but I guess it does feel a little strange. I hope I can get the divorce finalized before the end of August. I don't want to have to come back up here in case I have to go to court (which I don't see why I would have to, we both want the divorce and wouldn't our signatures prove that?) The reason I'm suddenly doing all this immediately is because I'm not ALLOWED to drop Jay from my medical insurance (and I'm paying alot to have him on there) unless I'm legally separated or divorced. So, I figured..might as well get it over with. We both know legal separation would be pointless cuz we agreed to get divorced. Also, he is applying for cheap health coverage through the state and they may not allow him to get it if he's still covered under me. God, I'm NEVER doing this again (Marriage)...I swear to god. Never Again. It is pointless. Even if I eventually have a child with somebody I will not get married. Ok, enough of this.