2003-07-15 : I'm leaving Seattle 2 weeks early
Ok. I made a decision last night. I've been feeling like I want to leave Seattle in the middle of August rather than the end but I've been hemming and hawing. Last night I sat down at my altar (don't make fun of my new age tendencies or I'll pop a cap in your ass..ha ha!) and lit my 3 green candles. This is something I do when I need to pray or whatever it is I do (See, I don't know what I pray to because I don't believe in the traditional Christian "God")...I guess I pray to the Universe or whatever/whoever is listening. I go to my altar when I need to make a decision or when I need guidance, etc. Anyways, I lit my candles and I sat down in front of them and I basically asked for a sign to help me make up my mind about leaving early or staying with my original plan. I just meditated on this for about 10 minutes and then I blew out the candles. What I perceived as "the sign" came about 20 minutes later. I crawled into bed around 9:15. I thought "OH GOOD..I'll get plenty of sleep. I"m tired from lack of sleep, my head hurts, I need to work extra hours tommorrow so I can leave early on Friday, etc." and I was almost ready to fall asleep when IT BEGAN.

I don't know where these two jackholes (I love you Xtine..I keep stealing your phrases!) were EXACTLY..I suspect they were standing behind the house my apartment is located next to..I also suspect that they don't live in this neighborhood. I also suspect that the woman was drunk, but it SOUNDED like they were right beneath my window (they weren't cuz I couldn't see them)....So, I'm all content and this lady starts up. She's mad at this guy...it might be her boyfriend, her ex-boyfriend..I don't fucking know but she is YELLING at him. "You just wanna go fuck that skanky blah blah blah" "You are such an asshole. Oh yea...I'd like to hear how you aren't an asshole." "You took my TV and I want it back." "You fucking owe me money. You used me. You didn't give a fuck about me, esp. when I had to have an abortion." And this shit went on for about 35-40 minutes and she was SCREAMING the whole time. Now, I'm a very patient person and at first I was sort of enjoying hearing this pathetic and strange fight..I like to eavesdrop but after 40 minutes of not being able to sleep (mind you, I had EARPLUGS in and I could still hear her every word!) Anyways, I get out of bed and I'm PISSED (and it takes alot to anger me) and I stick my head out the window and I SHOUT about 3 times "Shut up, Shut up, SHUT THE FUCK UP" and finally they hear me and then the guy (this is the first time I heard his voice) says "FUCK OFF" to me. So I crawl back in bed and they didn't say another word to each other. Anyways, that is my sign. TOo much chaos, too much noise and dirt and anger and bullshit in my neighborhood. Don't get me wrong..I LOVE Seattle, but I"m really needing a little quiet and a little less city. I've been here 9 years in September and I'm ready for a change and I really can't stand being apart from Larry and I need to start living cheaply (which means getting out of Seattle) so I'm leaving the weekend of August 16th. I might get screwed on the rent thing cuz they don't pro-rate and I'll be paying rent at the beginning of August, but my manager said if they can get somebody moved in around when I leave then the management company (property company) might give me back some of my $$. At this point I'm willing to take the loss. I just need to go. So, I gave the apartment manager my notice and today I'm gonna give my notice at work (wow...aren't I a nice employee, giving MORE than two weeks notice? I think giving all these notices will force me to stick to my new plan)...I will be sad to leave Seattle. I have so many great friends here and so many memories (several of which are bad memories!) but I'm ready to start life someplace else. I could see myself back here sometime, though. Anyways, I better get to work!