2003-07-28 : I love sunny days at Volunteer Park
I had a pretty relaxing weekend..spent mostly in the company of myself. I slept alot, ate alot of bacon (I kid you not..I go through these bacon stages) and watched some movies.

Friday night I decided to treat myself to some Panang Curry, so I was to the restaurant starting with "A" with the un-pronouncable name. Then I rented "Bartleby" (cuz you KNOW I love the freak of nature that is Crispin Glover) and "13 Conversations about One Thing"...both were good. Bartleby was strange..I keep thinking the phrase "I'd prefer not to" (you'd have to read the Melville story or see the movie to understand)...Crispin was endearingly wax-like and deathly looking (he's SO pale)...."13 Conversations about One thing" was good but neither left me me with any lasting impression. In fact..I haven't seen a movie for awhile that made me go "MY GOD....AMAZING!" I went to bed before 11 on Friday night..it was that sort of night, but I enjoyed it. Slept almost 12 hours.

Talked to L. on Saturday morning and then proceeded to eat raspberry muffins, bacon and raspberries. Did some reading and some naping and Saturday night I went to see Jay's band play with Drag Strip Riot (Jay's bass player, Mike, is in both bands) at the Dubliner..which was just kind of a stupid place to have bands play. The doorman kept telling the bands to "turn down" and there was no sound guy and the sound was shitty but fun was had anyway and too many cigarettes were smoked by me (I managed to drink several beers and only feel a slight buzz..how does that whole thing work, anyways? It is probably cuz I ate quite a bit of dinner before I drank..soaked up all the alcohol!)

Anyways, Sunday morning I organized my books....put Jay's books on HIS bookshelf for easy moving and put my books on my bookshelf. There are now about a pile of 20-25 books laying in the middle of my living room. These are books that I decided I want to get rid of. I think I will bring most of them into work (we have sort of a "library" in the lunch room)...most of them are not worth selling...they wouldn't bring me a dime plus I'm too lazy to haul them all down to a bookstore. What else? Oh yea...about 2, I walked down to Volunteer Park...bottle of water and book in backpack, Amish throw blanket over my arm. I laid in the shade under a giant green tree for a good two hours, just watching the sun filter through the leaves and listening to the wind blow through everything. It was SOOO relaxing. I didn't want to leave. I wanted to lay on that blanket FOREVER. I read a little, but mostly I just laid on my back or side with my eyes partly closed or partly open or something.

Watched "Auto Focus" which was pretty seedy and sort of depressing (but good) and ate cube steak and corn on the cob (it has been the WEEKEND OF RED MEAT!) and then I talked to L. on the phone for awhile. Read and then went to sleep.

Woke up and it's a brand new week. My second to last week at work...I can't wait. It's supposed to get up to 90 or above today. I might take in a movie after work to take advantage of the air conditioning!! Actually, my apartment stays pretty cool..it's fairly shady/dark.

My mom is in Nashville now w/her boyfriend. I hope they are having fun. I'll have to call her on her cellphone and see what "country/blues" things they have planned!