2003-08-26 : I love cheap shit!!!
Today I actually walked around some of downtown Springfield for the first time. There are many antique/collectible shops and a TON of hole in the wall bar-n-grills and alot of tiny Mexican restaurants. I ate grilled cheese and fries at a Chinese/American restaurant called the Spring Garden..it only cost me $3.50. I was amazed. See, that meal in Seattle would be at least $5.50!! Then I went into a rather large (and pretty cool) antique shop. I bought a blue/black flower print Rayon dress (with rhinestone buttons...kick ass!) for $5.00. A cool silk shirt from Thailand (for Larry) for $4.00, 3 cool "faux Victorian" bookmarks for $1.00, a $2.00 flower scarf to wrap around my head cuz constant riding in Larry's Mg is fucking my hair in the worst way. Oh yes...and a 45 from 1965 by a Mexican band called Los Brincos for $1.00 (which I'm listening to..it's pretty good, actually....) plus a good size Raggedy Ann doll in very good shape for $9.00...SCORE! I better stay out of these places!

Last night Larry's friends (who are both in bands) Jason (he's in Toad in the Hole..this cool Irish drinking band (think Pogues)) and this other guy named Steve who is in some band (or was..I think he's moving back to Illinois) called Jack Ass Willie. They ate dinner with us on the deck and everybody drank beer and they had brought their guitars and they were playing originals (they are really witty and funny guys!) plus hilariously stupid acoustic versions of Reo Speedwagon songs....Tenacious D, Um, One guy even did "Crazy Train"...it was alot of fun. Anyways, we are going camping this weekend and we need to go buy me a sleeping bag, so Auf Wiedersehen!