2003-08-27 : Xmas Dreams and Rose's Diner
I dreamed last night that we were all living as a family at my old house and it was Xmas and I was really pissed because nobody had bought anybody else any gifts and nobody seemed to care about putting any decorations up and I was frantic cuz I hadn't bought any gifts for anybody either..so then actually ON Xmas Day, my mom, Sarah and I were at Target and I was trying to shop for them but they both kept coming up to me so I couldn't hide what I was picking out....weird dream.

I just went on a 40 minute walk...I"m really worn out, but I need to get back in shape. Luckily I took a 50 ounce bottle of water with me and drank all of it. Then I stopped at this diner called "Roses" that is close to where I live and ate a BLT and a salad. There were mostly old people in there. There was also this older hippie type guy playing guitar, and he seemed to have it set up to a keyboard or karaoke machine cuz there was a beat...he was playing stuff like Jimmy Buffet(ICK) but it was interesting to hear live music while eating lunch! He did play a Sam Cooke song and it reminded me of mom (she loves him!)

Well, tonight we are driving out again to Dorena, where Larry's grandparents live, to eat dinner with them (which will probably be something like Polish Sausage and cabbage..Fart city for both of us:)!) Then tommorrow afternoon we head off to Windberry Creek and will camp for 3-4 days. I've never camped for that many nights. We got a nice tent/sleeping bag/sleeping mat set all in one box for $60.00 yesterday. Sleeping in tents is fun. So is eating bacon cooked over a fire in the morning. I'm gonna print out some good campfire ghost stories cuz I like reading those at night while people are sitting around the fire.

This morning when I woke up this room smelled strongly of pickles. I cannot explain it. It was strange and very sickening after awhile. Then when I was walking in our neighborhood I could smell the glue factory that we live a block away from. The smell it produces is this gross burnt butterscotch mixed with burning plastic smell. Disgusting. I've never really noticed the strong smell until today for some reason!

I'm almost done reading "Fall on Your Knees"..highly recommended (the author is Anne-Marie Macdonald)....it's pretty disturbing and very interesting and funny and tragic all at the same time.

I'm listening to the Muffs "Blonder and Blonder"..I haven't heard this for a long time.

I had Larry watch Donnie Darko with me last night (he'd never seen it)...I love that movie. It always makes me feel so strange afterwards...good soundtrack too!! I love Echo and the Bunnymen and "The Killing Moon"....great to have that song sort of opening the movie as he's riding his bike home.

Well, I need to take a shower..I stink!