2003-09-20 : Butterfield 8 and writing memoirs
*yawn*..I'm sleepy. I've been sleepy and lazy all day due to the fact that our entire household stayed up until 3:30 or 4 am. We went to John Henry's last night and saw some bands: The Cousies, The Shudders and the Courtesy Clerks. I danced for the Shudder set and all my energy was spent after that. I didn't really like the other bands. TOmmorrow we are going back to The Eugene Celebration to see a band from Dublin, The Frames (Anyone remember "The Commitments"? The curly red-haired guitarist from that movie is in the The Frames and the write-up in the Eugene Weekly makes them sound pretty good. Irish folk-rock. Then we'll see Calexico. Right now, though, I'm just looking forward to hitting the hay.

We just finished watching "Butterfield 8"...what a great movie! Liz Taylor won her first Oscar for playing "Gloria" and she was fantastic (and now I want to re-watch "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf" I have the book (Butterfield 8) and have never bothered to read it. Man, old Hollywood just is SO much better than new Hollywood, which I just don't really care much about (unless it involves Johnny Depp..ha ha)

I've been reading a book that Larry's grandfather (step-grandfather, actually..it's a long complicated story) wrote about their ancestry and his own memoirs of his life and esp. of his life with Larry's maternal grandmother. It's well-written and really fascinating. I need to write my memoirs but I can't say my life has been interesting enough to write much about. Maybe you have to wait until you are "retired" to REALLY write your memoirs properly...at an age where most of your life has gone by, and isn't just half-way through or starting over and over again (which is the way I sometimes feel about my life)..Still need to plant those tulips...next week. Well, good night, sweet diary and sweet readers! Sweet dreams!