2003-10-01 : Larry sleeping in the afternoon, Thirteen and a Tulips Mishap
I was in a bad mood but Larry sort of kissed it all away for me *sigh*...now he's fallen asleep on the bed. I like listening to him sleep, watching him sleep...even his snoring. I know he works hard and doesn't ever sleep enough, so when he enters sleepland and I know he's relaxed, it makes me feel happy for him. Watching him sleep, makes me want to give him a big hug (but I don't want to wake him up)...I guess I feel protective of him when he sleeps. I don't know..I'm feeling really dreamy and mushy right now. It's late afternoon, the house is dead silent, the sun is filtering through the sheer white curtains we have on the windows and I love watching the shapes and shadows of leaves dancing on the window and wall. I love Autumn. I miss the magnificent leaf colors of the Midwest and I've always wanted to visit New England during October...it would be idyllic, I think. I'm in a wistful mood, and thank god it's not a bad mood anymore.

I woke up this morning, ate yogurt and granola and watched "From Here to Eternity" (which I need to return to the library today) which I thought was a good movie, though maybe a little over-hyped and over-awarded. I enjoyed it, though. Then I went out in the front yard and dug holes and planted 8 or 9 (I lost count) of the 27 tulip bulbs we purchased. Hard work..even planting less than 10. The earth is really hard and dried out from summer still. Then I came up here and took a shower and was feeling like I'd accomplished something. THen Larry comes home early from work and my mood turns bad when he regrets to inform me that the exact patch of earth I just planted bulbs in is being torn up next spring so they can put sod or grass down. DAMN! He suggested that he'd help me dig them all up before they take root and we'll plant them someplace else but I'm just so discouraged cuz I did all that work for nothing. Oh well, such is life. We'll figure something out.

Cool! I sent in a resume for a medical billing job at a surgical center across from a big hospital (Sacred Heart) and they received my resume today and a lady named Heidi just called and wants to interview me at 9:30 tommorrow morning. I hope I get this job!!

I have a blister on my right palm from where the spade was digging into my hand. Or maybe it's from masturbation (ha ha...just kiddin'!)

Yesterday I walked around Eugene a bit while listening to the Dead Boys and a 60's garage comp I'd made myself. Then I got a spur of the moment haircut (chin-length inverted bob..the tips are very pointy towards my chin. It looks cute, I think)..Then I hung out and read at the library until it was time to go see "Thirteen" at the Bijou at 5:20. Cool old theater. Reminds me of the Egyptian or Neptune (but much smaller) in Seattle. "Thirteen" is about being a thirteen-year-old girl and what sort of pressures it puts on you. Nice girl wants to be friends with popular and pretty girl, so she does. Popular pretty girl is a bad influence (drugs, sex, drink) and Nice girl and Pretty girl spiral out of control. Holly Hunter plays nice girl's mom, who has her own substance abuse struggles, etc. It was a very realistic, sad and at times painful to watch coming of age/loss of innocence movie. I thought it was really well done. Sexy "billy" from 6 Feet Under was in it as well. When I left the theater, a girl who'd been watching the movie with her friends was out in the parking lot totally sobbing and being hysterical. Must of hit a little too close to home for her (it was a VERY depressing movie)..she was pretty young and I wished I could have made her feel better.

I'm feeling really hungry right now. Think I'll scrounge up something to eat or maybe I'll go to Taco Time on the way to the library..I like their fried taco's (disgusting, huh?)