2003-10-20 : Hardy Food and Heavy Dancing
Wow! It's almost 75 degrees outside. I walked outside to put something in the mailbox (my nephew's birthday card) and felt how WARM the wind was...and then I saw Trace walking towards the house in a turtleneck sweater, looking very hot. I just ate leftovers. Hans made this traditional Dutch dish last night that is to die for. It's a casserole...the bottom layer is red pickled cabbage, then a layer of diced apples, then a layer of ground beef and it's all topped off with fluffy mashed potatoes and baked in the oven for a bit. YUM! Very filling. I wouldn't wanna eat it every day or I'd probably weigh even more than I already do! I'm thinking about making (for the first time) pirosky's next weekend. I'll make borscht to go with it. Why does fall/winter weather make one want to eat heavier, hardier foods? Is it some ingrained ancestral survival mode that kicks in..coming from our genes? Does it make us feel more warm during cold weather to eat heavier food? Hmmm....

I finished "Gilligan's Wake"..what an amazing book, though I must say I liked certain narrator stories better than others. I liked Maynard G. Krebs (aka: gilligan) and Lovey's stories the best, I think!

Now on to the Syphilis book!!

Damn, it's HOT up here. I wonder if the heat is on or what. Naw, probably not. Time to do my weekly job search. *sigh*

Saturday night was ok. I didn't really have fun until The Shudders went on last. It was too crowded with drunken idiots. Toad in the Hole was great but it was too crowded. Luckily I was able to sit in a chair. I didn't like The Ovulators. I'm not sure what it is about them, but they don't appeal to me. I danced myself into exhaustion during The Shudders set. They probably won't be playing for awhile cuz the singer is leaving town. Rumors have it that they may not get back together. Internal strife..who knows. I was glad to get home afterwards cuz I felt SO drained of energy. I was starving, though, so I made shells and cheese at nearly 3 am and didn't get to sleep until about 4 am. Needless to say, I slept hard last night. I think I'm gonna watch "The Bells of St. Mary's" this afternoon. I doubt Larry wants to see it. I don't even know why I do..ha ha!