2004-01-09 : Oh, The Guilt!
I'm eating Saltines and I feel like going back to sleep. I'm not exactly tired, but I'm not exactly NOT tired, either. I slept from midnight until 5 am, when Larry woke up to go to work, and I couldn't fall asleep again so I had just a NIP...a little nip of Nyquil (My god...how pathetic is it to try to gauge whether or not I am, in fact, a Nyquil addict?) and I fell asleep again sometime after 6:30 am and woke around 10:45. I was planning on going to the Mall again because I really want to see "Cold Mountain" but Larry and I might both go to the Mall tommorrow, where he can watch "Lord of the Rings...Part 3, Golden Pee" or whatever the fuck it's called (which I have no interest in) and I can watch "Cold Mountain."

I went to the Mall yesterday and I went to what looked the healthiest "fast food court" selection...some little place called Healthy Alternatives or Healthy Choices, or something...I ordered some sort of chicken sandwich thing (which was AWFUL), and it came with salad (which was really mediocre) and some alright potato and spinach soup. I did like their smoothie/energy drink that they made me. It consisted of normal things like orange juice and pineapples and it also included strange things like spinach and alfalfa or something..it was a weird green color, and it might be the cause of my strange poops today. It tasted yummy, though, REALLY! IT DID!

Then I went looking for calendars...I bought a Lemony Snicket calendar for myself at "One of those mall bookstores" (B. Dalton?) and then I saw a mall kiosk (is that what it's called? Those things in the center that sell stuff?) selling a larger variety of calendars. I ended up buying two more calendars because I couldn't help myself. One was a "black cats" calendar, which I wanted, but decided to give to Tracy, because it seemed like a calendar she'd like, and then I also saw this very humorous "Fifties at Home" Calendar which has really cliched 1950's housewife/mother/shopper scenes with funny captions like "Their marriage was perfect now that they communicated solely through greeting cards." (Which has picture of a matronly woman (smiling very vacantly, as if she's swallowed an entire bottle of Valium) holding up a card that her vaccum-salesman looking husband (pictured in the background) has given her)....I decided to give the Fifties calendar to Larry (even though I want it, but why should I have two calendars?)

I've just sidetracked myself. After the calendar buying and the spontaneous hot pretzel eating (that healthy alternatives meal just didn't fill me up!) I went and saw "Love, Actually" which I really liked. It's so funny. When I go and see romantic comedies by myself (I tend to see MOST movies alone, actually) I always wish I had a guy sitting next to me holding me hand, and I get in this "Oh, if only I had a boyfriend" mode and get all weepy during certain poignant scenes, and then I snap back to reality and realize that I DOOO have a boyfriend, and that he just isn't there watching the movie. I'm a sucker, sometimes, for movie romance (as long as it isn't TOO Hollywood or contrived)...I think I cryed all the way home on the bus. I don't know if that was because of the movie, the continual medication withdrawal, or (more likely) because I know Tracy and Hans are leaving very soon and I can't stand the thought of being virtually friendless and alone in this godforsaken town. Turns out that their flight was cancelled cuz weather is still treacherous in parts of Portland and I assume they are flying out tommorrow (they were supposed to leave today)...Anyways, My tears did seem to stop when I found out that they weren't leaving until a day later. Tracy and I made spaghetti, and we all ate at the table, like a good little fifties family and we opened a bottle of red wine that the strange neighbor from across the street brought over the other night...the wine was awful (vinegary) and we poured the entire bottle down the sink, I think. Then we watched some old "Outer Limits" episodes (that were really cheesy and funny) and I read further into Bukowski's "Factotum" (he's getting a little bit more graphic about sex as I read his novels in succession) and then I had insomnia, and well, here we are again, only I've stopped eating Saltines. I think I feel like going back to sleep, but OH, THE GUILT!