2004-01-20 : Unexpected Phone Call and Telephone Surveys
My left shoulder really aches..the very back of it. I wish someone would stick an acupuncture needle in it or really dig in that spot (or an associated spot) with a deep tissue massage. I can't figure out what I did. Is it from chopping chicken and garlic? Is my body getting that old and pathetic? I'm only 34, God Fucking Damn It!

I have an interview in a week to do telephone polls/surveys...the pay is shit ($7.25 to 8.50) and the hours are evenings (like 3-9 or 10pm) and maybe some weekends (9-3) but I need a job and I've always been DYING to do telephone surveys. See, I LOVE doing surveys, so I figure alot of other people wouldn't mind being asked their opinions on things. I have a feeling there will be a lot of cranky asses that will think what I am doing is the same thing as telemarketing (which it ain't) and cuss/and or hang up on me, but I've had plenty of phone experience and I can handle it. In fact, rude people just make me laugh. So, I sort of hope I get to do this job just for a little while cuz I'm nosey and I wanna know what people THINK! So, as research..I would like to ask my readers....Do you like doing telephone surveys about your opinions and tastes or do you feeling completely bothered and hang up on the person? Just wondering!! Sign my guestbook or notes.

I'm reading another one of Larry's books (taking a break from Bukowski..I really did enjoy "Women" though!) It's "Zeke and Ned" and it's by Larry McMurtry and Diana somebody. So far it's pretty good. Not my typical read but I like the story. I don't feel like getting into what it's about.

I rented "My Dinner with Andre" from the library last week because I wanted to see it again. I think the last time I watched it was at least 10 years ago. Larry started falling asleep after getting through 10 minutes of it. At first I was thinking "Why the hell did I ever think this was a cool movie" and my mind was a little distracted but then I got into and I really love some of the subjects the two discuss and some of the freaky stories Andre tells about his travels around the world. I think the last half of the movie is far more intriguing than the first half.

I'm gonna fly to Denver for 4 days over Easter weekend to visit my brother. My mom is also flying there to hang out with us and she is buying my plane ticket, which is very nice of her, considering I'm unemployed and have NOOOO $$$. At least I have shelter and food and prescription drugs..that is all I really need (well, and food and litter for the cats). I'm a kept woman. Larry is good to me. I hope I'm helping him somewhat by trying to cook dinner everynight.

I got an unexpected call this evening. I didn't even know what to do. I held the phone in my hand and was torn between hanging up and just getting it over with. See, Larry and I met this drunk guy (he's sort of interesting, or he was when I was drunk about a month or two back) awhile back and I gave him our phone# so we could hang out in the future. I never thought he'd really call, but he did. He asked if we wanted to go have a drink with him tonight at this strip club that we ended up going to with him the first time we all met (strip club? me? I know..kinda weird, but I was curious for some reason)..I declined and said we don't go out on work nights and suggested he call us back over the weekend (God, why did I suggest that?) He's certainly a full-time drunk and I really don't need to befriend one of those right now, esp. since I can't drink on this Atkins diet for several weeks. Maybe he won't call again..eek! I shouldn't be so friendly to people when I drink..I should just punch them all out!