2004-01-23 : We Need to Talk about Kevin and the Comfort of Early Morning Rising and Rain
Even though I've not had enough sleep (4 1/2 hours) it is very comforting to lay in bed with the pretty dragon lamp on right next to me, starting a new book and listening to the rain pelt the roof, eating a small hunk of cheddar cheese and feeling warm and cozy beneath the blankets. I just took an extra sedative because I feel a little panic attack-ish and because I feel that I should fall asleep again to get some more rest, but sometimes waking up too early and lounging in bed is just what I need.

My fingers still reek of garlic and curry. It is a smell I always love. I don't know what my plans are for today. I did rent some movies: "Marnie" (I've seen alot of Hitchcock but this is one I've not seen).."The Graduate"..I got this just because the night before I told Larry it was one of my favorite movies and he said he had tryed watching it ages ago and found it borrowing. I completely scoffed at this and so I am insisting that he give one more try. How can ANYBODY find The Graduate BORING? It's sublime and it's neurotic and hilarious!! I also got "St-Ex" which is about the life of the author of the "Little Prince" (I'm afraid to get his complicated French name wrong, so I won't even type it). I also got "The Desperate Hours" in which Humphrey Bogart plays an con-man that takes Fredric March and his family hostage..sounds very tense and suspenseful. Then I also got something called "84 Charring Cross Road"...it has Anthony Hopkins..it's about transatlantic love affairs. Sounds nice (though I doubt Larry will be interested)..God, I LOVE the library!!

I've started an interesting book. Maybe some of you have heard of it. I guess it took a long time to find a publisher because it was considered pretty controversial...it's called "We Need To Talk About Kevin" and it told in a series of letters that a lady named Eva writes to her estranged husband. Kevin is their son, who at age 16 decided to murder several classmates and a few adults at his school. I guess the book is about her struggles with her own role as his mother and if they could have raised him differently, what went so terribly wrong, etc. It's a complete work of fiction, but it sounds so riveting. So far, it's interesting and a little sad.

Well, I feel that sedative kicking in, but first I want to put another (possibly an older poem) in here (next entry)..that is if I can FIND where ANY of my poetry is (my poetry folders)...I need to type them all into the computer for safe-keeping (mind you, I will save the paper copy...I ALWAYS save the paper copy!)

Happy Friday! Do something fun and be kind to yourself!