2004-01-24 : Roxy Music and Larry crooning to the Smiths
God. I hate colorized movies. I just hate them. Ok, I'm done with that rant. I woke up feeling really energetic and chipper today. My weight loss regiment is going a little slow, only 2 pounds in 4 days, but at least I'm starting to lose.

A first for me: eating EGGS! I have despised breakfast-type eggs all my life. Well, with the Atkins diet I decided I wanted to try to see if I could get myself to tolerate some eggs now and again so I don't have to always be eating bacon or breakfast meat. Larry made an omelette with red onions and red bell peppers and you know what? I didn't just tolerate it..I really LIKED it! I feel really proud of myself. I've opened my mind to eggs (well, ok, just omelettes so far)...Maybe I should try fritatta's as well! What are they, anyway?

We went to an antique store and looked around for an hour before we drove out to have a meal with his grandparents. It is so cool that Larry and I have the love of antique shops/malls in common.

After we ate at the grandparents, we were watching TV over there and "Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory" came on and we watched it (no commercials, either..kick ass!) I love that movie and I can watch it once a year or so and I never tire of it. It's so psychedelic and fun and strange and I love the moralistic songs the Oompah-Loompah's sing throughout the movie.

When we were driving home, we put on The Smith's "Hatful of Hollow"...It was so cute, because Larry rarely ever sings out loud but he certainly does to many Smiths' songs and I thought it was just adorable. I don't know the lyrics so well so I just sang what I did know.

Does anybody else watch that silly British show "My Hero"? I find it really cute and amusing. I'm gonna make sure I watch it from now on.

The Golden Globes are on tommorrow night. Call me a sucker and all, but I love movie awards shows and I'm excited to watch it (and you know I'll be watching the Academy Awards)...I know it's all Hollywood bullshit and that most "Hollywood" movies don't interest me as much as more independent films, but I like to watch anyway...I like star-gazing and checking out the dresses and hairdos. Oh, how I love glamour (ha ha..you should see how disheveled I look right now!)

Larry has a book on Roxy Music (and it goes into Bryan Ferry's solo stuff as well, I believe) and I just started reading it. I don't know alot of Roxy Music outside of the 80's stuff like "Avalon" (which I liked) but I do like at least one older Roxy Music Song "Virginia Plain"...I bet I've heard their other earlier stuff without realizing it, after all, I did watch Velvet Goldmine (have always loved that soundtrack). And I really love Brian Eno's "Here Come the Warm Jet's" Well, I'm off to read more about Roxy Music...Bryan Ferry was and probably still is a sexy motherfucker..YUM!