2004-02-13 : Pre-Valentine's Gifts and Food that Excites Me!
I just looked over because I heard Poppy make a vocal protest sound and I saw Poppy and Opal making out on the bed..Ok, reverse that..I mean, Poppy and Opal were slow-mo kung-fu fighting on the bed. It was cute. Then when Poppy saw me watching her she stopped, mid strike and slunk away.

I had answered a friend's questionaire awhile ago and in one of the questions he asked about childhood books we'd like to see be made into live-action movies..I mentioned Raggedy Ann and Andy. He just wrote back stating that he is now writing a screenplay involving Raggedy Ann and Andy getting busted (along with Holly Hobbie) for shop-lifting. I think that's brilliant!

Yesterday I got some $$ for Valentine's Day from my mom! Thank God for Mom! I was looking around my new favorite antique store down the road and found a good Valentine's Day gift for Larry (since he's all about the old cameras right now) and picked up a 1940 Kodak Cine Model 90 home-movie camera. My purchase only cost $16.00, yee-haw!! It's in really good shape, comes in the original leather case, etc. I was so excited by it that when I got home last night I said "Oh man..I really want to give you your Valentine's Day present NOW!" So I did and he thought it was very cool and proceeded to do some internet research on it. See, it takes "magazines" instead of rolls or reels of film and Kodak hasn't made those since well, uh, 1940, so we were concerned that he'd never be able to actually USE the camera, but he found some places on-line that sell film for it (costly!) and that can also process and transfer it to video (COSTLY!) but it's good to know it can be USED (even though it probably makes only 2 minute movies!)

Since I gave him his present, he gave me mine, which was a gorgeous short-sleeved silk blouse (Chinese style with the little bow/buttons going across the front and the high collar) that he bought at the Tibetan store in town..it's a rich Emerald Green..I totally love it. Unfortunately he got a medium and people in Tibet must be extremely small, because the medium is just too snug around my shoulders, so he is exchanging it for a large for me today. Can't wait to wear it. Green is always a good color for redheads! I like to pretend I look like Maureen O'Hara in "The Quiet Man"..HA! I WISH!

Know what's really good? Almond butter. Know what else? The roast beef I imbedded much garlic into, let marinate with wine and spices for 2 days and then finally simmered over the stove last night..heavenly!

I really want to see "Monster" and "The Girl with the Pearl Earring" and they are both finally showing in this dumb-fuck town (I was used to Seattle, where everything came immediately without delay) but I really shouldn't spend $$ on anything else except credit card bills, which just fucking sucks. Such is life! Happy Friday the 13th!