2004-02-17 : Emmett Till
Watched "The Murder of Emmett Till" on Pbs last night. It brought tears to my eyes and I had trouble sleeping afterwards and I believe I had nightmares and I woke up crying this morning. I couldn't get that photo that ran in all the papers in 1955 of his decomposed and badily beaten face out of my head. He was only 14 years old. Now, I'm going to make a large generalization here and please feel free to correct me, but I could never live in the SOUTH. I imagine things aren't quite THAT scary anymore as far as racism, but I imagine there to still be many racist people (esp. the older generation) that live in the South and I don't think I could take that. No offense to my readers living in the South, and please feel free to put in your own two cents about how much of a problem you think still exists as far as racism is concerned. Hell, I know there are racist people ANYWHERE you go...nearly any state...Idaho, Oregon, Washington, Indiana, etc. But I wonder if it's still the most obvious in the south. I don't know..it makes me sick, though and I just don't understand why people have to hate so much. I can understand the cycle being perpetuated by one's upbringing, though. I am glad I wasn't raised that way and that's all I gotta say on this matter.