2004-02-26 : Don't Stop Believing...in Monsters..
Now that I've just seen "Monster" I can't get that fucking JOURNEY song outta my head.."Don't STOP BELIEVING.." UGH! I've always hated Journey but that movie almost made me enjoy that song...stange. I was amazed at Charlize's transformation and performance but I think the movie was a little over-rated. It felt like a Court-TV made for TV movie put up on the big screen in a way (just a little more bloody and graphic)...but maybe it was meant to be that way. Anyone else see it yet? Know what I mean? What were your opinions? I think they could have made the movie longer and shown her background of abuse and prostitution more..then I would have a depper understanding of just why she killed the men (though just that first rape/torture scene was pretty brutal!) Or maybe not, I'm not sure, I'm not a director!

Anyways, at the very beginning when her and Selby get together (even before the Journey make-out scene at the roller-rink) these two 18-22 year-old white males in baseball caps left the movie, never to return. I don't know if they went in to the wrong movie by mistake or just couldn't take the fact that Charlize didn't look like Paris Hilton or the fact that the story involved..GASP...LESBIANISM! I was mostly surrounded by older people (senior citizens, almost) which I thought was sort of fascinating. I guess they are more likely than anybody else to go see movies during the day, along with unemployed losers such as myself.

I've been looking at this cool section of The Library Of Congress (www.loc.gov)..sorry, I'm too hip to link! It's on these families that settled the Nebraska territories back around 1864. There are family photos all sorts of letters between the settlers and their loved ones and friends back in Indiana..truly fascinating. I love the letters, especially.

I have an interview for a medical billing job!! The interview is next Tuesday afternoon at The Thurston Medical Clinic. Wish me luck!