2004-03-15 : Long Weekend Entry...Fights, Music, Sunday Dinner and "Cops"
Larry just called from work and asked if I wanted to see the Pixies and I was like "Well, of course, but how much does it cost?" Turns out that someone he works with bought a bunch of extra tickets (The Pixies are playing 2 shows in Eugene, which is amazing, cuz well, Eugene is kinda lame when it comes to getting live music) and Larry and I can buy the tickets from her, so that kicks ass!! I haven't seen the Pixies since 1988 or 1989, when my college friend and old roomate, Carrie, and I drove from Carbondale, IL to Champaign to see the Pixies play. I guess one of the reasons they picked Eugene as far as towns to play (I guess they are only playing 5 shows total right now all over the country) is that Frank Black always gets his guitars fixed here in Eugene.

This past weekend, Jason came down from Seattle to visit. It was fun hanging out with him again, but I had forgotten how immature he can be. His personality just rubs the wrong way very easily. We got along fine for the most part, but it was a little strange being around him. When I think back upon it, it's hard to believe I was with him for so long and even married him. We are technically still married, we've filled out the papers and I told him he needs to pay for the filing fees (because he used to owe me several hundred dollars, etc.) so as soon as he has the $120.00 to file the papers, we can get divorced. I'm still not in any rush...it's just paper.

Anyways, Friday night we took Jason to the "shitty bar" which was even shittier than normal because they had on some fucking basketball game and I couldn't play music. If I can't play the jukebox in the shitty bar while I'm drinking beer I get bored in like 10 minutes. There was also this group of really loud and obnoxious drunk guys behind us talking about really disgusting web-sites so I was almost getting a panic attack from having them nearly screaming in my ear over at the next table and from utter boredom. Eventually the game was over and our music selection came on and I had taken a little extra klonopin and I felt better. Afterwards we decided to show Jason the horror that is THE CLUB. I think I've talked about this tweeker/hooker bar before. Larry, our roomie Scott, Jason and I all headed into The Club. They were all fairly drunk (esp. Larry) and at one point I went to the bathroom. When I came back from the bathroom some chaos had ensued and Larry was calling this older lady a cunt and Scott and Jason were calling her a bitch and I had no clue as to what had just transpired. Larry explained to me that while I was in the bathroom, he was standing by my stool with his leg sort of drapped over it to save it for me when some old and haggard biddy came along with her friends and snatched the bar stool right out from underneath Larry's leg. He asked for it back and told her that it somebody else was using it and was just in the bathroom. I guess the old lady didn't say anything and just sat down on the stool and ignored him completely. Well, Larry got really angry and he was cussing at her and telling her how rude she was and then the bartendress started lecturing Larry about how he was talking to the old lady, and some other dude with a 'stache and a cowboy hat was behind Larry and calling him an asshole and then Larry started cussing out the bartendress and I was pretty embarrassed and completely surprised that the whole lot of us didn't get thrown out of the bar (not that it would have been a big deal, that place is SO AWFUL)..Well, to make a silly story short, I found another chair/stool to sit on and then Jason and I went up and did a kick-ass karoake duet ("I Love Rock-n-Roll", of course..it's the only song I'll do!) and then we left that hellhole behind and went back home.

Saturday night we went to this place called "The Tiny Tavern" (it is rather small!) because the Eugene Weekly had listed that the Shudders (my fave Eugene band) were playing. Once we got there it turned out to be a misprint and we found out that they were playing the NEXT night. That was a disappointment because I wanted Jason to see them but he'd be gone by Sunday afternoon. So, we hung around The Tiny Tavern to eat some food (They have chili to die for, and I ate a really yummy meatloaf sandwich) and then we headed over to the Black Forest to take a chance on some bands we'd never heard of (no cover charge...can't beat that!) The first band was "High on Peeps" (as in those Marshmallow peeps you get for Easter!)...They were 2 girl and a guy...dressed in alot of silly neon and glitter clothes..they looked like new-wave on 3 hits of Owsley 25 or something. They played a quirky combo of new wave and something more ethereal and hard to describe. The female bassist and female drummer (there was no guitarist) took turns singing songs and harmonized alot and the male keyboardist did alot of funny/cheesy keyboard effects. I enjoyed them though I found that after about a half hour of their zaniness that I wanted them to stop. The next band was MUCH different. They were called "Dum Dum" and they were much darker, louder, and heavier (and comprised entirely of men with long or shaggy hair)..We had been talking to the singer of "Dum Dum" before their set and he said they sounded like a combo of Black Sabbath, The Pixies and The Swans. I was totally fearing that they would be really pretentious or really whiney or something but they were really great. I don't know why they think they sound like the Pixies and I don't remember what the Swans sound like (last time I listened to the Swans was in the mid 80's) but they definetly had an early Black Sabbath thing going on, mixed with a little Neurosis and they were almost psychedelic in their long, tangent-induced songs. On some of their songs the singers' girlfriend came up and they'd sing together and she reminded me ALOT of Lydia Lunch in her vocal style, so that was cool, as well. Ended up buying one of their home-made discs (recorded live) for $1.00. Should be interesting to listen to.

Jason left yesterday afternoon and we drove down to Larry's grandparents to eat Sunday dinner and also ended up watching 2 hours of "Cops" before we came home.

**************************************

I had a strange dream this morning. I was sleeping with this guy who kind of reminded me of Bud Kort ("Harold and Maude") and he lived in this really interesting apartment that was actually a museum that people could walk through to look at the strange paintings on the wall. I remember thinking to myself that he must have no privacy if people can just walk through his apartment any old time. In the dream, I was on my lunch break (I don't know where I was working) and I had been gone more than 2 hours and I was afraid I'd get in trouble if anybody found out. Towards the end of the dream the guy with the museum apartment and I are in this theater and Duran Duran is playing onstage and I take not of how much older and more paunchy they look and they invite people that know how to play music on the stage and so I sit at this organ/piano and play really strange music (that I can barely hear over the racket of everybody else in the band) and then suddenly all the members of Duran Duran disappear (they must have snuck of the stage and flown off in a helicopter of something) but I find myself unable to find my museum apartment "boyfriend" and I'm worried about getting back to work.

*************************************

It's a sunny day..I'm gonna take my book and a sandwich up to the park at the top of the hill close to where we live and hang out, or maybe I'll just lay in bed, who knows. First I have to look through the job listings in the paper, though.