2004-04-01 : Hypochondria and Library Gems
Ack. I think I'm getting sick AGAIN. What the hell! I'm starting to wonder if this isn't a cold but that I'm developing allergies for the first time in my life. Larry said alot of people move down here and get allergies for the first time in their lives. There is just something about all the pollens, plants, flowers, etc. in Willamette Valley that make allergies extremely common here. It's also a little less rainy and definetly warmer here than in Seattle, so that may have something do with it. Oh well, I'll suffer through it. I better be well in a week, cuz that is when we fly to Denver. I'm SOO excited to go a mini-vacation and see my brother and sister, meet Larry's cousin, Nicole, and her husband and eat some good food (cooked by my mom) and go up to Pike's Peak on a cogwheel train. Hopefully we'll make it to Boulder...I was there last time I visited, but not long enough cuz it was just my brother and my step-dad, who is kind of lame when it comes to looking in cool shops, he's just a boring, middle-aged man, more interested in watching sports than looking in cool stores. I went with him to the art museum when I was in Denver, though, and at least he has some interests besides sports and ogling young women (which really irritates me)..esp. when he talks about them out loud. It's very embarrassing, but he won't be in Denver next week, so YEA!! Speaking of him, his birthday is tommorrow and he'll be 60. That is sort of hard to believe!!

Went to the library yesterday and checked out some cool Cd's to um "listen" to..."The John Lennon Collection" (my fave John Lennon album is "Plastic Ono Band" which I have on a shitty tape somewhere), John Coltrane's "A Love Supreme", "The Original Recordings of Charlie Parker", "Thelonious Monk with John Coltrane" and "Lester Young: The Kansas City Sessions"...We don't have nearly enough cool jazz, so I was glad to see these cd's at the library! I also checked out three VHS tapes, "A StreetCar Named Desire" (which I haven't seen for many years)..Larry claims not to like "A Streetcar Named Desire"..I don't see how that is possible. Surely, he's lying. I also checked out "The Blue Dahlia" (Gotta love those Film Noir movies and Veronica Lake is just so classy and gorgeous!) What else...Oh yea, a Tennessee Williams adapation with Paul Newman that I've never seen "Sweet Bird of Youth" (it's from 1962)...I really love any movies that are Tennessee Williams adaptations. Anybody ever see "The Rose Tattoo"? That is one of my faves!!! I like alot of movies from all decades, but they don't make 'em like they did from 1935-1970, I don't think, that's just my own personal opinion, though! I also checked out two more books "The Little Friend" by Donna Tartt (One of my all-time fave books was "The Secret History"...she's an amazing writer!) and this book seems to be just as amazing!! I will read Chuck Palahniuk's "Invisible Monsters" after that. I really love all his stuff that I've read (which has only been "Choke" and "Diary")..I plan to read all his stuff (along with Carl Hiaasen, when I get around to it!)

This morning I woke up at 3:30 am and went in the bathroom and went pee, but I felt like I couldn't get it all out and I had sort of this weird pressure/lower abdominal pain, and then when I was sitting there in the bathroom a terrible wave of nauseau swept over me and I really thought I was going to puke, and I broke out into a cold sweat. That whole feeling subsided after about 5 minutes but I then felt really anxiety-ridden and I had to take an extra klonopin to calm myself down. I couldn't fall back asleep for awhile. I wonder what that was all about. I was thinking all sorts of paranoid things, like "I'm pregnant, that is why I got nauseauted" or "I have something terribly wrong with my uterus" or "Am I going to pass a kidney stone or something?" And then I thought "What if I have some terrible illness and don't even know it" and it was horrible, that vicious cycle of hypochondria, but the klonopin settled me down and I don't have abdominal pain or anything, just this fucking sore throat. *Sigh*..I truly am a freak sometimes!!