2004-04-13 : High on Salt Water Taffy
I'm very relieved that one of my friends is still on this earth and not cold in the ground and that is all I can say about that. I wish I could pass that friend some of my hope, because I feel hopeful now. Larry just found out yesterday that he got the new job at the new company he wants to work for, and I also found out that starting next week I HAVE A JOB!! It's a long-term temp job doing medical billing for PeaceHealth (which is where I've wanted to work all along in this town...) I'll be doing secondary billing (which is easy, easy, easy) and they want somebody through September and it might turn into a "temp-to-hire" thing. I'm very excited and so relieved to have a job...see, didn't I say that it'd all work out AFTER I got back from Denver! Larry said that too! So, things are looking up for me and I'm glad about that!

It's nice being back home, though on the plane I almost started crying, thinking about leaving my brother (and especially my mom)...Hopefully I'll see them for Xmas. Mom is pushing for everybody to converge on Eugene for Xmas, which would please me because I don't have to spend money to travel anywhere, would please my brother because he's never been here, and would please my sister because she loves Eugene. If she didn't live in Hawaii I think she might be living in Eugene..that's my sister.

Our roomie Chris AND our wacky neighbor Brian (who drove us to the airport for our flight to Denver) both came and got us (well, they both came in one vehicle)...and though I was glad to be home, I still wasn't really all that pleased to have to be in a car with C. (and ESP. Brian) for 20 minutes. Those guys say the weirdest shit. I can't even describe the conversations and comments..alot of it I just don't "get"..maybe I'm stupid..or more likely, I don't spend enough time on meltingclock.com or listening to old Zappa albums, I don't know. Plus, this is petty, but it smelled like Brian hadn't bathed (or maybe just not used deodarant for a few days)..STINKY B.O. Man, that is the WORST!!!

Denver was great. I had a much better time hanging with my bro, my mom and Larry than I did just hanging with my brother and step-dad last summer. We ate at this great Thai place ("Thai Basil") yesterday afternoon. Great food (I love panang curry) and the decor was so pretty. Lime green walls and old dark wood furniture from different parts of the Eastern World. Our table was literally inside an old and very large and dark and wooden canopy bed frame...very, very cool. At the front of the restaurant towards the door was an old antique opium bed with a sign asking people not to sit or stand on it!! Even the bathroom was cool!! We also hit a fantastic record store (no cd's or tapes, JUST VINYL..I was in heaven) called Underground Records (or something similar to that) and we bought Camper Van Beethoven's "Our Beloved Revolutionary Sweetheart" (is that the correct title?), Sinead O'Connor's "The Lion and the Cobra" (I love "Troy"), T-Rex's "The Slider" (which I've been looking for on vinyl FOREVER, and "Japanese Root Sounds" which has kick-ass shit like the 5-6-7-8's and Jackie and the Cedric's on it. There were some Seeds records I wanted and this one rare Shadows of Knight record I wanted (but it was $45.00) and we found a really rare mono/mint copy of Hendrix's "Axis Bold as Love" but we didn't purchase that because it was selling for $250.00!!! I could have spent hours in there (and same with Larry) but mom and Mike were getting a little bored with looking at records.

When we got home I was so happy to see all the kitties. The first one I saw was Thomas. He was meowing and rolling on his back so I picked him up and did my babytalk and kissed his nose (he was squirming at this point), and then I saw my beloved Poppy and she was so happy to see me, and then shy Opal looked pleased (but she seems really skittish..I hope nothing happened to her while we were gone..she's always kinda of a scaredy cat, though) and then we unpacked and then Larry insisted I have sex with him since we didn't at all in Denver (I didn't wanna disrespect my brother and my mom was right next door anyway) and I kindly obliged:)

Paragraph break. Then we went and did some necessary errands, including going to the Candy Baron and getting salt water taffy (caramel corn flavored salt water taffy is REALLY REALLY GOOD!) We thought of Tracy and Hans and their licorice drops.

Well, I can't think of anything else, Oh yea, I saw Elwood when I got home (he's also a cat) and I cryed his name and he "meeped" at me and came over for a pet, and then Mouse came over and she's upstairs now and being sweet, and I still haven't seen Mathilda or Portia..but I"m sure they are around, and none of our fish died (I'm high on sugar)..BYE BYE!!!