2004-05-01 : The Saturday Market
I'm writing a story (a "circle" story) with a certain Diarylander via email and it's fun. I love seeing how the story twists and turns when two people take turns writing the unfolding events.

Maybe when we are done one of us will post it here. Or Maybe Not.

I woke up feeling fairly dehydrated this morning. I met Larry last night at the Horsehead after work. I'd felt a little bit of a panic attack sneaking up on me towards the end of work so I took a small section of klonopin. Sometimes klonopin relaxes me so much I feel like I've entered the Twilight Zone or something. It makes me look at things differently. When I was walking to the busstop I was noticing the shadows of long grass on the sidewalk and the California poppies seemed almost neon orange instead of their normal color. It was almost like I was hallucinating.

Oh, Larry wants to go to the store so I guess I'm gonna have to cut this thing short. Anyways, met some people that Larry works with at the Horsehead and the drunker we all got the more we were having these extended conversations about similar music that we all like and horror movies like "Carnival of Souls" and I had alot of fun. Went to the "shitty bar" later. Larry won $300 playing video poker, so that kicked ass. I went to bed as a slightly surly/bad mood drunk. See, while at the "shitty" bar I was talking to Heathen for an extended time about music (again) and then we started talking about the Third Reich and I excused myself to use the bathroom and when I got back he had vanished. I think it's rude when you are having a long chat and you go to the bathroom and the person you were chatting with doesn't bother to stick around and say "Bye" or "Hey, I'm going home" or "Hey, I'm going to the Tweeker bar down the street." But people are people and drunk people in bars do all sorts of things and that's probably just Heathen, so oh well. Since I was pretty drunk I took it really personally (as I tend to do anyway, especially when a little too drunk) and I was all pissy until I went to bed. I took a shower when I got home and laid next to Larry and then I seemed to calm down.

We went to the Saturday Market today and Larry bought me (and him) all sorts of nifty things. We sampled several homemade mustards and ended up buying some Jalapeno Stone Ground Mustard and also some Garlic Pickles. Yum. Then he ate Pad Thai from a food vendor and I ate a Combo plate of rice pilaf, potatoes, spinach and other stewed veggies along with some beef shishkabob that I got from an Afghani stand. YUMMM!! What else? We drank some apple ginger cider that was really heavy on the ginger. It was really good and cold and spicy. We ended up buying various incenses and soaps that I love and Larry bought himself a really nice blue blown glass bowl and I also got some sparkly lipgloss and a bottle of "Tropical Guava" lotion. It smells so good I want to drink or eat it!! We looked around at the other booths and it's pretty hot today (80 degrees) so we were pooped after about an hour of walking around. Then we went to Aqua Serene and Larry bought me two more Green Barbs for the fishtank. I've named them Sylvia (plath) and Virginia (Woolf)....I'm morbid, I guess, but my other Green Barb, Ophelia, has outlived all my other fish so I figured I'll name them all after famous female suicides and ironically, they'll all live a really long time.

Well, Larry is like "COME ON!" So I gotta go. Enjoy your weekend, whomever you are!