2004-05-26 : Blue Cheer and Romance Novels
I found an older tape of mine (that I recorded myself) that is The Troggs on one side, but what I was really happy about was that the other side contains Blue Cheer's "Vincebus Eruptus". Now, I'm sure most of you are familiar with their heavy, heavy version of Eddie Cochran's (Is it Eddie Cochran?) "SummerTime Blues" ...I remember watching MTV as a teen, back when they still played "From the Vaults" videos of classic/60's rock stuff and that was where I first was blown away by Blue Cheer. The Heavy thudding of the music, The HAIR..oh my god..that is what I remember most about the video was the drummers long hair just completely obscuring his face as he pounded away. He almost looked primitive. I've never bothered to listen to anything other than "Vincebus Eruptus" but I just love that album. "Heavy Metal" started with them I think in some ways. I think that album came out in 1968. The great thing is that it's really power bluesy as well. So, get a copy, put on your Go-Go Boots (Even you guys..come on, I"ll loan you a pair of mine) and flail around in your room to it. There was this guy on the bus who was rocking back and forth (I think autistics do that, don't they?) and in a weird way he was totally in beat and time to Blue Cheer (I swear, I'm NOT making fun of him, I'm just making a strange observation)

Speaking of "Heavy." What ever happened to the Melvins? Do they still put out stuff? I lost track after "Stoner Witch." I remember seeing them in Seattle at the now defunct DV8. It was an all ages show and I was standing in the hallway and could just barely see the stage (it was PACKED) and I remember this very young looking guy standing close to me. He must have been about 13 and he seemed into the music. I felt very maternal towards him. Like, I wanted to make sure he had his ride all set up for after the show, etc. It makes me laugh thinking about that.

Oh, today I noticed that in our lunchroom, somebody has donated a romance novel to the pile of magazines. It's called "Duel of Passion." I should count how many times phrases such as "heaving breasts" are mentioned. I've always thought "Shit. I could write this crap. It would be so easy, and I could make some money." Only problem is, I don't think I could live with myself.