2004-08-09 : Intestinal Distress and Long Scenic Drives
I don't know if I ate something bad or have a mini flu-like thingie but last night about a half hour after dinner (I made spaghetti, but Larry didn't get sick so I doubt it was food poisoning) I had intense intestinal distress and it has lingered into this morning. Maybe it's from dehydration, I don't know? I'm probably even MORE dehydrated since I've been having diarrhea (aren't we all glad I'm so open about my bodily functions?) I'm tryng to drink Gatorade and water, and that seems to be helping. I HATE being sick. Oh well, enough of that.

Didn't get the job at Wireless Source, but that's fine. I really had a feeling I probably wouldn't get it and I'm not sure that working at a cell phone place is something I'd want to do anyway.

I saw an ad for an assistant for a Montessori school (no experience necessary) so I have an interview for that on Thursday. We'll see how that goes. I don't know if it's doing clerical stuff or actually dealing with the kids. Either one would be cool!

I'm also trying to cut down my costs..so I have an appointment with Planned Parenthood tommorrow so that I can get cheaper (or possibly even FREE) packs of birth control instead of paying $47.00 per month for them (I have no health insurance...)

So though I don't feel physically well today I feel like I've been accomplishing things on the phone.

Things I'm grateful for:

Larry and his generosity and loving nature; good health in general; a wonderful mother; 2 cats (plus several others) that adore me; food; shelter; this computer; nice smelling bath products; my writing talent; my intelligence and a good sense of humor. I'm sure there are many other things I'm grateful for but I'm tired of making a list.

I finished the first Carlos Castaneda book and now I'm continuing on with "A Separate Reality"..

Rented "Elephant" (Gus Van Sant directed)...not sure how I feel about it. I thought it was missing SO MUCH but at the same time I sort of liked the simplicity and lack of dialogue, etc.

Also rented "The Little Foxes." I love Bette Davis and I've never seen this one. Looking forward to watching it with Larry in the next day or so.

I was having a really strange dream when I woke up this morning...I know it involved a picture of The Flaming Lips..a talking picture..or something. Something about "spacy, groovy psychedelic music" ..I can't really remember. The dream is all fuzzy.

On Saturday we took a drive and it turned out to be much longer than we meant to go (thank god the little MG made it all the way)...Larry was trying to drive to what he thought was a town (Quartzville). His Oregon map showed it being slightly up in the mountains. We never found Quartzville (the town) because it's actually the name of a huge recreational/country bypass area in the Willamette National Forest. It was a beautiful drive full of tall evergreens and many narrow, winding roads and several lakes (with the brightest emerald green water...lotsa algae!) and we finally reached an altitude of about 5,000 feet and had an excellent view of Coffin Mountain and Mt. Jefferson (which was snow-peaked and very gorgeous)...Nobody around (car-wise) for miles, so I was able to pee right there on the side of the road (hee hee)...Larry took some pics up there. I forgot to put on sunscreen, but I wore a hat so my face wasn't burnt but strange section of my left thigh and part of my left arm are red, and I have a perfectly shaped sunburn triangle on my neck/chest area. DUH! It looks really stupid.

This weekend was also some Filbert (is that a nut?) Festival in Island park which is down the hill from us. We could hear music (sounded like a blues band on Friday and Saturday and some Mexican Music on Sunday) well into the night (at least until midnight!) On Saturday night we heard firework booms and we looked out our bedroom window and they were lighting off a fireworks display that was almost as good as the one they did on July 4th, so that was pretty neat!

Well, I'm feeling icky again. I'm gonna lie down now.