2004-09-02 : It's my Birthday and I want some CAKE!
Happy Birthday to me!!! I'm 35 years old today and I'm vowing to have a good birthday despite the mood I was in yesterday (depressed mood)....Larry already gave me one of my presents, the new Clinic cd, so I'm looking forward to listening to that!! I wonder what my life will be like in 5 years, in 10 years? Hopefully more fulfilling than it is right now!! Hmm..I really wish I had a big piece of birthday cake to eat this morning, but I don't. I think I'll go someplace this afternoon and by myself something small but nice (since I got a little bit of birthday $$ from step-dad and real dad)...I'll also treat myself to lunch, I think at "Snappy's"...they aren't too far from here and have really good and reasonably priced food. They probably haven't been open more than 6 months..I'm glad I discovered them while walking down Main St. Pew...one of my roomies is smoking downstairs/outside and since I have my windows it's all drifting in here. I still smoke when I get kind of drunk (once or twice a month, I guess) but I still have no tolerance for smelling smoke when I'm not smoking..it smells disgusting. Too bad they don't smoke cloves, those aren't so bad (though they put holes in your lungs!) Man, I'm starving. Need to eat something. I'm meeting Larry at Poppi's tonight at 5:45 for my birthday dinner. Yummy Greek food.

Last night we watched "A Patch of Blue"...Man, I just LOVE Sidney Poitier in everything I've ever seen him in. Does he have any BAD movies? I'm assuming he does somewhere...Anyways, for those that haven't seen it..."A Patch of Blue" was filmed in 1965 and it's about a blind girl named Serina (who happens to be white) who lives with her drunken, but harmless grandfather, and her very abusive mother (Shelly Winters is excellent in this role!)...Serina spends her time taking care of this fucked up family and stringing beads to help earn the family some money. She's sort of a blind, modern-day Cinderella. She goes to the park one day and happens to meet Sydney's character, Gordon...they become friends, despite her mother's racist protestations and the film ends happily. Cool film, cool jazzy soundtrack. Try to rent it if you can find it!!