2004-09-18 : Heartache
I went to bed last night feeling very out of sorts. I felt very angry towards Larry without even knowing why. When I woke up I felt a switch had been turned on. I felt utterly low and I started fearing that I am not in love with Larry anymore, but I didn't want to trust my feelings because I felt so depressed when all of this was going through my mind. I couldn't sleep and I was tired. I threw on some warm clothes (it was a darky, rainy, windy and chilly morning) and I walked up the long hill to get to my favorite little park with the perfect view. I ate a Tigermilk bar and nearly couldn't swallow it because of the lump in my throat and the physical exertion of climbing this hilly street. Once I got to the park I sat on a bench and just stared at the valley below and the trees being shaken by the wind. It started misting and I felt pathetic there but also that the weather seemed to mirror my internal emotions almost perfectly. I felt a wave of total sadness and helplessness wash over me and I sobbed on this park bench, in the rain and asked out loud for help over and over again. I sat there for probably 20 minutes just asking for help and feeling utterly low. Then I walked back down the hilly road towards home. I ran a bath with rose water in it and scrubbed myself with Verbena scrubbing salts. I then dressed and went back to bed (where Larry was sleeping off and on) and despite smelling good and being warm I felt so upset. I kept dwelling on my unhappiness in my general life and in specific, the fact that I don't feel happy with Larry right now, which makes me feel guilty because of all he has done for me and how loving he can be. I also felt scared because I didn't want to hurt his feelings or add to his stress by voicing my fears that I was/am falling out of love with him, but I finally just had to break down and tell him all my thoughts. I think all these fears and thoughts are just a symptom of the depression I'm feeling today (and the start of seasonal affective disorder) and I voiced that to him and I think he isn't upset because he knows that I am still in love with him but that I can't feel it today because I can't feel love towards anything. I finally was able to calm down a little and I sat in front of my light therapy lamp for 20 minutes and then we went and got something to eat. Between a full stomach, an extra sedative and a few Hershey's kisses I started to feel more calm and I was able to climb into bed and fall asleep for an hour or more. I still feel a little somber but much better than early today. I just did a little 10 minute meditation (something I need to do every day!) and I think this has helped as well.

There is a severe weather watch in effect until 10 pm this evening. I'm not sure if we'll get the high winds, thunderstorms and hail or not. I"ll keep an eye out.