2004-10-08 : Life As We Know It...Teens these days?!
I'm hungry. I have HOTPOCKETS (EXCITING, I know!) to eat and so I shall, but I'd rather spend $$ that I shouldn't spend on going out to lunch, but I'm gonna practice some self-restraint and NOT go down to Snappy's. What I really want is their Reuben Sandwich with a side of Waldorf Salad (and one of their fantastic chocolate shakes)..Oh well..not for me..not today!

John Waters' new movie "A Dirty Shame" just opened today at the Bijou. I'm dying to see it. I love all his ridiculously over-the-top and disgusting (and hilarious) movies! Larry and I have decided that we will wait a week to see it, though. We'll go next Friday after he gets off work (We are too broke to afford non-matinee prices...)

I had my first counseling session with Erin yesterday. All the counselors are upper-level grad students finishing up their MA's in counseling/psychology, etc. She looks to be in her mid 20's. At first this took me some getting used to (I don't know why)..I'm used to being the younger one and the counselor being older than me, but really it isn't a problem. She's nice and listens well. The first session with a new counselor is always kind of weird..trying to feel each other out. I was able to ramble on almost non-stop about various things for the session, though. I feel like I have SO much to talk about that 50 minutes a week isn't gonna cut it, but once I get past the first month, my mouth and the history of my life should slow down a bit. Then I'll inevitably have those times when I don't have ANYTHING to say during the session (or I'll think that when going in) but I'll end up talking anyway. I surprise myself sometimes. I keep SO much hidden. It's good to have a semi-professional, objective listener. It's REALLY GOOD for me!

I said I'd vaccum our bedroom, but I don't feel like it. I'm so fucking lazy it's a shame. It's a dirty shame..ha ha! I'm gonna force myself to do it anyway. Larry works two jobs. The least I can do is vacuum our god damn bedroom. *Sigh*..I think I've always been sort of lazy (esp. when it comes to housecleaning)...I wish I could break the cycle, but I'm not sure how. I enjoy cooking, but not cleaning up afterwards. I enjoy taking a bath, but not cleaning the bathtub. I enjoy taking a shit, but NOT cleaning the toilet, etc. Hmmm...I really am rambling on today.

I have a secret. I watched the season premiere of that new show about teenage boys trying to "Do It" last night. What's it called? Oh yea, "Life As We Know It" (I wonder if it's trying to be the opposite version of "My So Called Life" (which I adored!)..Anyways, I cringed in many parts, but I was touched in certain parts, as well. I kind of like Kelly Osbourne's character and I think her "boyfriend/friend" is very cute. I'm really curious where they'll take this whole thing and how successful the show will be. Anybody else watch it? What did you think? I don't like the sexy/seducing teacher bit..I hope that doesn't go far (student/teacher relationship) though I guess that is reality in school these days (Mary Kay Le Torneau, etc.) I've always loved movies, tv shows, stories about teens. I'm now 35 and I still am fascinated by teen culture (and horrified by it to a degree as well)...Teenagers nowadays seem SO completely different than when I was in high school from 1984-1987. But maybe things aren't really THAT different, ya know? The music might have changed and the fashions, but maybe teens have the same problems they did in the 80's, 70's, 60', etc. It's hard to say. Boy, I'm really waxing philosophical now.