2004-10-28 : Androgynous men, sassy cats and shelving books
Now I've got songs stuck in my head from the "Velvet Goldmine" soundtrack. "We'll take the whole She-bang..." Jonathan Rhys-Meyers is such a sexy thing. I need to rent ANY movie that he's ever been in. Johnny Depp and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers...the sexiest actors on earth, in my opinion. Johnny Depp is my favorite, but I get really excited when Jonathan is in something. Jude Law ain't too shabby, either. I'm looking forward to "Alfie"...I should make it a point to rent the original "Alfie" which I've never seen before!

Who watched the lunar eclipse? We went up to this dark and secluded park up at the end of road up the hill from us and viewed it the best we could. It was really overcast so it wasn't real clear. I could see a faint pink/red tint to the moon, though.

I just started a memoir. It's called "Breaking Clean" (Judy Blunt)...it's about growing up and living on cattle ranches in Northeast Montana for the first 30 years of her life. The winters there sound absolutely horrifying. It's a really interesting memoir! I love memoirs! If my life was more interesting I would write my own! Maybe it's not how interesting your life is, though, maybe it's the style which you choose to write it in to make ordinary things seem extraordinary (ha ha...that sounds sort of cheesy..I can't believe I just said that. It sounds like an advertisement for a lame movie or something!)

I had "orientation" with the Springfield Public Library yesterday. Everybody I met was super nice. I can just come in whenever I feel like it (no set schedule) and shelve books..I just need to work an initial 20 hours (doesn't matter how long it takes me to do that) and then they just expect that I'd do it a minimum of 4 hours per month. I think I can handle that. It'll be good exercise, also.

Anybody out there watching "Lost"? I think it's pretty good in some ways! I'm into it. This is the most TV I've ever watched in my life (which makes me feel guilty as sort of think of the thing as an "idiot box") but we have shows on that we watch Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday night of every week/weekend.

Larry put up some groovy colored shelves (I think they are from the 60's..they used to be Tracy and Hans) for me. I put framed pictures on them plus my antique books, my two antique beaded purses (one of which was my grandmother's), my 3 black cat statues, and my Raggedy Ann and Andy mini tea-set and a few other Raggedy items, plus a pink plush stuffed bunny. It definetly looks the "girl" shelf in the room where as Larry's shelves look like the boy shelves with his flasks, antique cameras (not that cameras can't be feminine as well), his Wilbur Smith books, his Bukowski books (not that I don't enjoy Bukowski to a degree)..he does have a few stuffed animals on his top shelf. The two bunnies with sweaters that my mom gave us last Easter when we were all in Denver visiting my brother, and he also has my stuffed black panther up there. Speaking of black cats...Opal has invented a new game today. She is currently on the roof and she keeps coming up to the window and scratching on it to be let in and as soon as I open the window for her she runs off, slinks away....she's done that twice. Sassy cat!!!

I watched most of an early Hitchcock film that I rented from the library yesterday afternoon. It's called "The Skin Game" (1931) and involves two feuding families but I found it a little dull and gave up on it before the end.

Well, I think I'm gonna go look at pictures of androgynous men and do weird, random google searches for things like "pig farts" and "red freckles" to see what I come up with!