2005-01-05 : Life Lessons from 2004
I borrowed this survey from Delighted:

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?

volunteered, wrote a novella, called a suicide hot-line (not necessarily in that order)


2. Did you keep your new year�s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I didn't make official resolutions, so therefore, I have none to keep. I do plan on trying to exercise more and eat a more healthy diet, but I ALWAYS say I'm going to do these things.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

my friend Gigi gave birth to her 2nd child.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, thank goodness!

5. What countries did you visit?

Nothing other than the US (which is where I live)

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

more friends, a better outlook on life and a semi-decent job.

7. What dates from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Dec. 26, 2004...the horrible tsunami. June 1, 2004...My one-year anniversary with Larry.


8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Writing a novella.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Failing to secure permanent, satisfying employment.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

mental illness, yes. It was pretty bad for about 1 month (hence the suicide hot-line) and I also developed summertime allergies that led to mild asthma.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Larry. He's been so supportive (financially and emotionally)

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

The RED states. Bush.

14. Where did most of your money go?

I rarely had any money at all.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

I got pretty excited about volunteering for Womenspace, about having my mom come to visit for Christmas, and about finishing my novella.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?

Anything by Sixteen Horsepower. I listened to alot of them this year.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder?
happier
b) thinner or fatter?
fatter
c) richer or poorer?
about the same, I think.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

working

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

freaking out

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

Well, Christmas has already passed. Mom came from Illinois to vist. We went out to Larry's grandparents on Christmas day and stuffed ourselves and watched TV.

21. Did you fall in love in 2004?

I didn't fall in love, but remain in love with Larry.

22. How many one-night stands?

none

23. What was the best book you read?

God, there were SOOO many. "Life of Pi", "True Notebooks", "April Witch", "The Time Travelers Wife", etc.

24. What was your greatest musical
discovery?

I'm not sure that I made a new one.


25. What did you want and get?

the ability to bust my ass and write my 89 page novella in less than a month (the month of November is when I wrote it)

26. What did you want and not get?

a decent job.

27. What was your favorite film of this year?

"Napoleon Dynamite" was great. I also really enjoyed "Garden State"

28. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 35 on September 2. I went thrift-shopping and bought myself some dresses and then I met Larry at Poppi Anatolia's for a yummy dinner.

29.What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Less worrying about EVERYTHING (esp. being unemployed)

30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?

incredibly casual and comfortable.

31. What kept you sane?

Larry


32. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

none, really.

33. What political issue stirred you the most?

the election (and mostly it's pathetic outcome)


34. Who did you miss?

my family, Tracita and Hans, and a few friends in Seattle.


35. Who was the best new person you met?

Mary-L


36. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004.

That I ALWAYS have options, no matter how trapped I might feel on any given day.