2005-01-29 : I'm gonna be a truck driver! Well, not really...but I'm gonna do billing for a freight service!!
So, things are looking VERY GOOD. A temp agency I sometimes deal with called me a few days ago to say they might have a job for me. Yesterday I went on an interview at Leavitt's Freight Service, which is a trucking company here in Springfield. Nope, I'm not getting a job as a driver! They are hiring an A/R billing person and though I know nothing about the trucking industry, The lady that interviewed me and the lady at the temp agency seem to think that if I could do something as complicated as medical billing then I shouldn't have a problem with billing for the trucking company once I learn everything there is to learn. I guess I have confidence in my abilities as a detail-oriented person and fairly quick learner, thus, I think I can do this job (once I learn everything) as well. The interview went extremely well and I'm 99% sure I'm in the door. There is only one other "candidate" and the lady that would be my supervisor said she had a few reservations about that person that she didn't have about me, so I'M IN! They want me to come back on Monday for a sort of second interview, but mainly to have me meet the other people in the office that I'd have contact with. It will be a temp-to-hire job (which is good, just in case I decide I don't like or can't do the job, or they think that about me) and it pays well ($12/hr) and I imagine they have good benefits (I will ask about that on Monday). The only potential problem with starting a new job at this point is that there might very possibly be a bus strike starting next Tuesday and that would suck ass cuz I don't drive, as most of you know. It's too far out in Springfield for me to realistically ride a bike. I'd probably end up seeing if my roomie, Chris, could take me to work in the mornings before he goes at 9 until the strike ends. I'm HOPING and praying that they don't strike, though, cuz it's really gonna screw up a lot of people's lives if they do. I'm SOOO happy that I have a job, FINALLY and I'm excited to learn something new cuz Medical billing gets pretty boring after awhile, plus I'll have a lot of interaction with truck drivers and maybe I'm romanticizing them, but I think it'll sort of be fun!!

My mom called me yesterday to tell me she and my Aunt Mary Jane (Seriously, don't make fun..that truly is my aunt's name!) went to a psychic they've gone to in the past (who has always been really accurate) and my mother showed a picture of me to the woman, who said that I needed to hurry up and get divorced from Jason (she described him fairly well) because Jason would never do it himself (because of him being lazy and immature) and she also said that in about a year and a half that I'd have a BABY and that it would be a boy. She also advised my mom against moving to Oregon and said that she'd do better to move to either California or Washington..hmmm.... I don't know that I completely believe all this, but I find it sort of interesting..esp. the part about me having a baby. I can believe THAT part of it because Larry and I were sort of thinking that in the next 2 years or less that we'd try to have a child. Hmmmm....