2005-02-11 : A Pre-Valentine's Day Gift And Daniel Gallivan, one of my Irish ancestors...
I got my tax refund today! The Federal Government is my new, favorite boyfriend! What a wonderful (and early) Valentine's Day gift! Ha Ha! It's nice to have the money in my bank (though most of it has to go to bills!) Now I can afford to get something for Larry for Valentine's Day. We were at Fred Meyer yesterday picking up my klonopin (sweet, sweet klonopin!) and he bought me a small potted red tulip (actually the plant has three tulip flowers on it, which is all I wanted for V-Day, anyway. We plan on going to The Copper Penny Antique show (it's a big show) at the Fairgrounds on Saturday and on Sunday is a big record convention somewhere in town, so I told him that I'd buy him something when we are looking around. He'll most likely end up with an old camera (he collects old cameras) or some cool, rare record (which he also collects for certain bands!)

I called up KWVA during Spacey Peter's show (he's the DJ that is always telling himself to shut up on the air because he must be stoned and he can never express what he wants to say)..but he plays THE BEST garage rock for 3 hours. He played a bunch of LOVE (which I requested) and I happened to call right at the precise moment he was giving away tickets to see a late-night showing of "Harold and Maude" (My 2nd favorite movie EVER!) at the Bijou...so at 11:15 on Saturday night we'll be in our seats waiting to see Harold and Maude, which is cool cuz I've never seen it in an actual theater!! So, I'm feeling really good today!

One of my relatives is researching our Irish ancestry. He's specifically researching The Gallivan's (my grandmother's mother's maiden name) and this is what he found out about one of our relatives:

******

Daniel Gallivan (misspelled as Galvin in army records).

Sgt., Co. G, 2nd Battalion, 18th U.S. Infantry (Regulars). 14th Army Corps.

Born: 1838, Co. Kerry Ireland

Died: 19 Aug. 1874, Ivesdale, Illinois (cholera morbus).

Married: Joanna Hart, 27 Aug. 1871, Ivesdale Illinois.

Born: 29 April, 1855, Mt. Holley, New Jersey

Died: 18 Dec., 1936, Ivesdale, Illinois.

Enlisted: 4 Feb., 1862, Chicago, Illinois. (Was then living in Niles Mich.).

Signed enlistment papers as Daniel Galvin, born New York City,

21 years of age.

Captured at battle of Chickamauga Ga., 20 Sept., 1863.

Gunshot wound left arm, between elbow & shoulder.

Confined at Richmond Va., 29 Sept., 1863, sent to Danville Va. 12 Dec., 1863.

Confined at Andersonville Ga., date not given.

Admitted to hospital there 4 June, 1864 with scurvy (scorbutus). Returned to prison grounds 4 Sept., 1864.

Exchanged at Rough & Ready Ga. 19 Sept. 1864. *

Returned to 18th Regt.

Discharged: 4 Feb., 1865, Lookout Mt. Tenn. (expiration of term of service, three years).
*****

I'm not sure how Daniel Gallivan is related to Margaret Gallivan (my great-grandmother on my maternal side) but he died in Ivesdale, IL, which is where my mom grew up. I think it's interesting that he seemingly lied about his last name, place of birth AND age when he enlisted in the civil war. Fear of prejudice against the Irish, I guess. I can't wait to see what other info/relatives my relative (distant cousin) comes up with!