2005-03-07 : Driving all Over Oregon/Nuke Nightmare/Bus Strike
Wow. Spring is here early, it seems. In fact, you could almost say that early summer is here since it's supposed to get close to 70 degrees today! Unfortunately, we haven't seen much rain in the last several months and this means that there will probably be HUGE forest fires in Oregon this Spring and Summer. Things are ALREADY so dry. Larry says he thinks we'll see the first major forest fire hit our National Forests in the next month. I hope not!

We went up to Portland this weekend to visit Jody and Elena. It was fun, although I drank a little too much wine on Friday night and felt like a slug on Saturday. On Saturday afternoon, Larry and I drove into Portland (Jody and Elena actually live in Tualatin) and strolled around Nob Hill (nice, but PRICEY little shops) and then we walked around looking in shops in the Hawthorne neighborhood.

Yesterday we got an early start home because Larry wanted to drive down the coast as our way to go back to Eugene. That drive is REALLY long from Portland! Much longer than Larry had anticipated, so we didn't end up driving down the whole coast..we did stop in Cannon Beach and eat lunch, though, which was fab. Though Cannon Beach is a little too touristy for my tastes, I still like it. It's a cute town and the beaches there are gorgeous. Once we got down as far as Hedo, Larry was sick and tired of driving, so we drove about 50 miles over to I-5 and then took I-5 the rest of the way home, which saved us some time.

DREAM:
**************************************
Last night/this morning I had this horrible dream involving some sort of threat of nuclear war. I remember that I was in this old brick church or school building (I was either working there or going to school or something) when suddenly the building was in a lock-down mode and the administrators wouldn't tell anybody why they wouldn't let any of us leave. I was able to call somebody (my mom?) on my cell and she told me that some foreign nation (I am not sure if it was Russia or a Middle Eastern country) had launched nuclear warheads at us and that it was only a matter of time before they reached US soil. I was totally freaked out in the dream, but also sort of calm because I had no idea what would happen and knew that I couldn't really do anything to prevent the catastrophe.
**************************************
I haven't had a nightmare about war for many, many years.

A nightmare that really IS going on currently in Eugene/Springfield is that the buses have gone on strike today, so my only means of transporation when Larry or my roomies aren't around is completely gone for now, which SUCKS! It's good that I don't have a job right now since I usually depend on taking the bus. I'm not even sure if I should look for a job right now because I don't know how I'll get to any possible interviews (I can't afford to take a cab!) but I have no idea how long this strike will last. It's really gonna fuck with many people in this town that have no other way of getting around. I support that the bus workers want better benefits, etc, and I'm not mad at them, so much as angry with Corporate LTD for not giving the union members/workers what they want. Fuckers.