2005-03-10 : You're so Vain!!
I've been being vain (makes me think of that Carly Simon song "You're So Vain"..sexy Mick Jagger sings back-up vocs on that..whoo!) and trying to take flattering pictures of myself with our web-cam. I keep trying out different lighting, etc. Can you tell that I'm bored?? I have incredibly bright red lipstick on right now (for the pictures of course) and it looks good but it's so un-ME. I so rarely wear any sort of make-up, but when I do put it on I like what it does for me.

Sometimes I feel like I'm getting old. I've never looked in the mirror and really thought about it before, but this year I'm noticing little things. More grey hairs (that was taken care of yesterday when I colored my hair..it turned out the most glorious shade of cherry red. I want to suck on my hair like a popsicle..JUST KIDDING!), and then I think about how out of shape I'm in and how this is the heaviest I've ever been. Up until I was about 23 or 24 I weighed between 100 and 110 pounds (I'm 5'7) and now I'm 35 and I weight almost 170..JESUS!! I also notice that there are more pronounced circles under my eyes. Not really DARK, sickly, tired circles, but my face is aging. I'm looking more and more like my grandmother (and probably my mother, too)..People always guess that I'm about 5 years younger than I am, but I think it's mostly because of how I dress or the sorts of things I'm interested in..I don't know. Good skin runs in our family and I'll probably inherit my grandmothers and grandfathers lack of wrinkles. I've tried to always limit my exposure to the sun...worn sunblock, haven't been much of a smoker for the most part (or drinker), so in the long run I hope that helps me age well. I sometimes see women in their late 40's and early 50's that look 10 years older and I can tell that they've spent TONS of time in bars, smoking and drinking, and also tons of time in the sun. That leathery look is sort of sad, isn't it?? If anything ages me more quickly than it should, though, it will be stress and anxiety. I know that's got to have an eventual toll on everything!! You know, I never thought I'd really write about worrying about how I LOOK when I get older..I didn't think I really cared about things like that, but I guess I do, sometimes!

Last night I was listening to CoasttoCoast and they had two guests on talking about The Psychology of Serial Killers. It was really fascinating and I wish I had been able to stay up to listen to the whole show but I grew too sleepy.

When Larry gets home we'll be walking another 4 miles (like we did Tuesday) through Island Park and along the river. It's good to get out and exercise with someone (especially in this amazing weather)..Two of my tulips are starting to come up. That makes me happy.