2005-05-18 : Happy as Larry
Well, this morning seems to be starting out better than yesterday morning. I don't feel like ripping somebody's head off (though I'm sure I still have PMS) and I haven't dropped a bowl of cereal and a bowl of cat food all over the floor (what a mess that was!) I was literally crying over spilled milk, like a three-year-old. I slept much better last night, which helps.

Yesterday morning I was also kind of worrying about whether I'm learning everything quickly enough at my job, but today I'm not concerned about that. Things at work are going well though I don't know when I'll feel ready for my trainer to go down to her desired 3 days a week. It was funny (and slightly embarrassing)...towards the end of the day I got the WORST heartburn. It was right after I ate a piece of cheese, which is strange, because dairy usually doesn't give me heartburn. I thought I was going to DIE, it hurt so bad. Finally, I had swallowed enough Tums, and then the burping started. I tryed to kept that quiet, but it was impossible. Luckily, there are only 4 of us up there. We were all cracking up at my burps.

Larry bought an Ipod over the weekend. Those things are really great fun! We have SO much music in it now. The Ramones, Sixteen Horsepower, and Camper Van Beethoven seem to repeat themselves (not the same song, though) almost a little too frequently because we have so many albums by each band downloaded in to the thing. It'll be great to take in the car when we go up to Seattle this coming weekend.

I can't WAIT to go to Seattle. A wedding, drinks with varying friends, and visiting my old haunts.

I'm reading "The Dead School" by Patrick McCabe. It's great, but I think it's depressing me slightly, since it's about two separate, but inter-connected men that slowly lose their minds. All throughout the book a phrase I was not familiar with has been being used. "Happy as Larry"...which basically means well, that someone is happy. Who the hell is Larry, though? I looked up the origins of that phrase and nobody seems to know total details, but it originated, supposedly, in Australia, at the turn of the century and refers to some sportsman named Larry. Others feel that Larry refers to the Lazarus of the bible. Anybody ever hear this expression? Anybody use it? (Chiv?)