2005-05-23 : Sweet and Sad Seattle
My weekend in Seattle was wonderful. I'm afraid the details would bore everybody to death because nothing truly FASCINATING happened, but I was insanely happy to see old friends.

I was over-excited by the time we got there on Friday night that I was drinking "Black-n-Tans" at The Old Peculiar like there was no tommorrow. I was not quite three sheets to the wind, but getting close. I ended up having to puke in order to stop the spins. That hasn't happened in ages. I'm sure everybody loves hearing about me sticking my finger down my throat. Um, yea..

We went to a wedding in Sultan. My friend L. was getting married. I am so happy for her. The property they got married on was gorgeous. The "Wedding Barn" they actually got married IN was hideous and it was all sort of rednecked out (I feel like a jerk for saying that) but it was great seeing L. and her kids, and I love her new husband. I really don't like Lil' Smokies cooked in sauce in a crockpot but I ate several anyway.

It was great seeing my friend Michelle. We haven't been in much contact in the past 3-4 years, but I feel like we totally reconnected with each other again. Larry got along with her really well, too.

It was good seeing Jill...but only to a certain degree. She does have two adorable cats. I think my problem with Jill isn't really with her, but with her boyfriend..he drives me fucking mad. He's another one of those marathon talkers. Ugh. I really think they are ill-suited for one another (and I've always thought that) and I think Jill thinks that too in many ways, but she feels trapped. I feel sorry for her, but at the same time, I don't.

It was good seeing J. but something about his personality irritates me very quickly (just like it did when we were still together and married)...He made me a mix tape and burned me the new Briefs and the new A-Frames stuff though and that was sweet of him.

The last friend I saw was Lynn. She's always a kick in the pants. She's really funny. Larry said she reminded him of Flo from Mel's Diner ("Don't Kiss My Grits")..I sort of see it, though I never thought of her in that light before.

The saddest thing was when we were driving out of Seattle on Sunday to come back here. I burst into tears and said "I don't want to leave..I don't want to go back home" and then wept silently for 10 minutes. I realized more than ever that Seattle STILL feels like my home, and that I'm still really lonely down here. Now that I'm back I don't feel so sad, though.

God..I'm just too tired to write an interesting "road trip" entry.

Work is going well. I'm really starting to feel like I'm catching on to what most of my job duties are and I'm navigating really well around the system. I still have more stuff to learn, though, and Charlotte, my trainer, has resigned. Her last day will be June 2. So, she's gone from attempting to cut her hours to part-time, to outright quitting. I don't feel too stressed about it, though. She'll teach me as much as she can before she leaves and other people will be there to help me with things I still don't have a handle on. I just don't expect her to actually QUIT..she's in a really stressful time in her life right now, though, so I don't blame her.

Well, that's all...goodnight!