2005-06-11 : Lords of Dogtown and Mall Times
I never did like that band, Midnight Oil. Larry put some of their stuff (from his own collection) on the Ipod. Oh well!!

Yesterday we went to see "Lords of Dogtown". I REALLY enjoyed it. It reminded me of something like "Dazed and Confused" (if that movie were taking place in California instead of Texas and were about surfing and skating)..The young actors in "Lord of Dogtown"..YUMMY. I must be a secret pedophile. I saw "Z Boys and Dogtown" (or whatever it's called) a few years back when it came out and so it was interesting to watch sort of fictionalized version of that documentary. I wonder if it made Larry miss California? He used to skate and surf (but not all that much..just sometimes)...Then we went and ate at "Sweetwaters" this restaurant in the mall (we spent alot of time at the mall yesterday evening, which was kind of weird, but sort of fun..I don't want to do it again anytime soon, though because I despise malls)..Anyways, I had a Bloody Mary with my meal and I haven't had a Bloody Mary in years and it tasted SO GOOD that now I want one again. Larry had a gift certificate to Sears so he bought some jeans and let me buy some new camisoles and undies (and I got two pairs of those "boylegs" that remind me of Tracita) and they are comfy but sort of strange at first when I'm used to regular undies. I think they look cute, though.

Thursday night we went to see Nekromantix (sp?) who are a Danish psychobilly band. It was an early show and we were home by 10pm, which was good. I had to sort of scowl a little at the crowd of guys and gals in their "rockabilly costumes"...all their tats and cleavage and leather and rolled jeans and pompadours, etc. I was wearing a long pink dress and pink knee high shoes and black mary janes with butterflies on them..ha ha! Fuck it. I'm too old to wear a "costume" anymore. God, now I sound really judgemental. I've been guilty of trying to look punk rock or something before.

Anyways, the opening band sucked. The Henchmen (from L.A.) were pretty good and Nekromantix were good, but maybe I don't like psychobilly as much as I used to..or maybe if it doesn't sound enough like the Meteors or Cramps, it just doesn't sound what I expect it to sound like. I wasn't disappointed, but I wasn't blown away, either.

We're off to the Saturday Market to buy incense, and then we're off to Aqua Serene to buy feeders for THE EEL and then tonight we are going to an ex-coworkers of Larrys house for a bbq and a Murder Mystery Game (? WTF)..Hope everybody else has a good weekend!