2005-07-06 : Contusions, Creepy Crawlers and Port Townsend
Just call me: CONTUSION GIRL. We went up to Seattle this past weekend and on Friday night we hung out with my friend, M. We were walking back to her house and it was dark and I was a little tipsy, but I ENTIRELY blame the incident on a big gap in the sidewalk close to M's house. One moment I was walking along chattering on about something and the next moment everything went slow motion and I was lying on the grass..I landed hard and managed to not only skin my knee, but to bruise it and make it swollen..it hurts but it's healing now. It was good seeing M again. We hadn't spoken for a couple of years after having a sort of dumb falling out and now it's just like 1999 when we were living together, etc.

One of the main reasons we went up there was to hang out with Larry's brother (who was visiting from CA..he has friends that live in Arlington, WA and he was visiting them) so we met him and his son (and his son's friend) at the Seattle zoo and walked around for 4 hours, which was a little much in my opinion, but it was fun. The little boys were all about going to see the spiders and bugs and snakes. I wasn't so into those creepy crawly slimers! Oh, Larry and I ate breakfast beforehand at Hi-Life and they have the BEST biscuits and gravy I've ever eaten (almost better than even my grandma used to make and hers were top-notch)

Saturday night we ate dinner with my friend J. and her fiance and spent the night at their house. It was nice to see them.

Sunday we took the ferry over to Bainbridge Island and then drove up to Port Townsend. We had booked a room at the Palace Hotel for Sunday night. We spent Sunday afternoon walking around looking in shops and sitting in the sun. I LOVE Port Townsend. We ate dinner and took a long walk up around the hilly residential streets oohing and awing at all the amazing Victorian architecture. I'd love to retire there or win the lottery and move there or something. Larry was quite taken with the whole place, too.

Anyways, not much else to tell right now and I'm in a hurry because I have to get in the shower and get ready for work.