2005-07-12 : Little Dude and The Country Fair
We have a little stray that I've been seeing around the neighborhood for at least a year now. It's gotten bold enough to lie on one of our chairs on our front porch and we've taken to feeding it because it's cute and shy and too thin. The hope is that we can get it to trust it and then take it to Greenhill where it can be taken care off and fixed (Little Dude is the nickname we've given it..and little dude has HUGE balls) and adopted (or put down if it has any nasty kitty diseases..poor guy)..This morning I heard a cat fight and I ran downstairs and out the front door and some bigger cat (that slightly resembles Little Dude) had the poor little guy pinned to our front porch or Little Dude was in the defensive position. Hopefully that older cat won't come back again.

This weekend we went to the Country Fair. I told myself I would never go to this extremely large (it's on many acres and is 700 booths of delicious food, and wares for sale) and it's sort of a Hippie Fest, though many different sorts of people go there. Curiosity got the best of me, so we went on Sunday. We got there about an hour after it opened and the crowds were minimal at that point which made it nice to walk around. All the booths are in really shady, forested areas, which is cool and there was plenty to look at and eat and good people watching. Some of the more brave and "free" ladies go topless and some go topless and have their breasts painted. I hate to say it, but you know I'm going to anyway: Some of the older hippie ladies really SHOULD NOT go topless...I'm not a fan of seeing bare, sagging boobs...that's just me, though. Anyways, it was fun, but a few hours into it the crowds became enormous and I felt claustrophobic and wanted to hide. We stayed for a total of about 3 hours. It's something we'll probably take my mom to next year so that she can experience it for herself.