2005-08-20 : Mom's Enthusiasm is rubbing off on me!
My mom has been here for exactly one week and she is totally in love with Oregon. Her enthusiasm for Oregon (even for Springfield and Eugene) is rubbing off on me and I'm starting to think..Hey, this isn't such a bad place to be!! She is convinced that all the people in Oregon are so much nicer than back in Central Illinois..could be true. People around here ARE pretty friendly (compared, especially, to some of the hipster chilliness of people in Seattle)..anyways, I am glad she is here and if she decides to actually settle in this town I think it'll make my life much easier for me because I'll have my favorite family member close to me again. We've been taking walks and watching movies and we baked a rhubarb pie the other day. Not much else is really going on. Today, we drove out to Florence (with larry) and walked around on our favorite beach. Mom is enthralled with the Coast (as I still am, as well) and I'm full of semi-decent fish and chips and too much butter pecan ice cream. I'm going to go read now. I'm plodding through Jung Chang's "Wild Swans"...it's very fascinating, but sometimes I get a little bored with the in depth "history lesson" on the Communist Party and The Cultural Revolution. I prefer the book when she just focuses on her family.